My Reviews (29)

Fresh Pea and Tomato Curry

This curry is simplicity itself to make and takes almost no time. Just saute onions with spices, then add the other ingredients and simmer.
Reviews (29)


05 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: cadmangaz
very nice meal, I added a little more coconut milk, and a tin of italian tomatoes. definately will do again.
 
29 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: AMATULLAH
I made double the recipe and used frozen peas and served it over basmati rice, it was delicious! even my 2 picky eater sisters loved it! NOTE: If you are using fresh peas they might take very long to cook because of the acidity of the tomatoes so you could either boil them first abit then add them in or use frozen peas that have been soaked in hot water for abit!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: Zenglebert
Love this recipe. Peas are a big favorite, as are Indian dishes. I used frozen peas and was very careful not to overcook. I like things spicy, so I did add a little more heat, but not so much that I covered the sweetness of the peas.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: SHARONN
Great simple dish, and a nice way to use the abundant harvest of fresh peas. I'm sure frozen would work as well. I used double the coconut milk, and still thought I needed a bit more liquid, so added a splash of vegetable broth. Served it over coconut rice (basmati rice cooked in coconut milk and turmeric) and it was great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 May 2003
Reviewed by: Aspiring Chef Rita
Delicious and Easy! Everyone enjoyed it. Wouldn't change a thing. I had to use canned diced tomoatoes since the tomatoes at the vegetable store weren't good - but now I know that the recipe can accommodate either fresh or canned. Another thing I found - we had some left over today - I tasted it cold and the and the flavors had blended in even more. This is a recipe I know I can do a day ahead now and serve cold during the summer. Thanks Gayathri!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: Katroar
I really enjoyed this dish, but I took others' advice and added more coconut milk and I also used pure chile pepper powder and added more. I, too, used frozen peas, and it worked out great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: TAMZIN
I made double the recipe and used frozen peas and served it over basmati rice, it was delicious! even my 2 picky eater sisters loved it! NOTE: If you are using fresh peas they might take very long to cook because of the acidity of the tomatoes so you could either boil them first abit then add them in or use frozen peas that have been soaked in hot water for a bit!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
Comment:
18 Nov 2009
Herbeano said:
Altered ingredient amounts. I added some sliced red sweet peppers (which were home grown and needed to be used ) and a sliced garlic where you stir in the tomatoes and peas stage . Very good . Perhaps could have added the peppers at the beginning with the onions.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
01 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: cabbey
For a pound of peas, I would have preferred about double the amount of sauce that these measurements yielded. Though the recipe calls for a pound of pea PODS, which might have yielded a half pound of actual peas... sadly I didn't note that before pouring an entire pound bag of peas in. (yes, I used frozen.) The spice mix smelled fantastic when I started cooking, but it really didn't translate into a good flavor, or at least not as good as it smelled.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
Comment:
24 Jul 2008
DI. L said:
Used different ingredients. Great recipe. I love curries, but was never able to get my veggie curries right. Well, this one did it... I think it was the cinnamon. I replace the chili powder with mild curry, though, cause I have a little boy who can't eat too spicy. Still, super recipe!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes