My Reviews (55)

Best Homemade Pizza Base

For best results when making homemade pizza a baking stone is a good idea. If you can't find one (they are not expensive) a perforated pizza pan works well too.
Reviews (55)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Navy_Mommy said:
Made it more kid friendly. The flavour and texture of this base was really good but I found it very difficult to work with because it was really sticky. We made breadsticks for the kids (age 9 and 2) out of the dough and they liked it.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Rebslo
This is one of the best home made pizza base recipes that I've ever made. My husband just loved it, he just holds his breath when I make home made pizza because I can never seem to get a good base. This one was excellent. A little spicy for my taste buds with the quantity of pepper in it so next time I'll half it.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: PrincessJenna
This was the best crust. I have never been able to get a tasty pizza base. Great Recipe!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: JDVMD
Great! I feel like a real pizza chef. Found myself wanting to throw it up into the air and spin. I'll eventually succeed because this will become my only pizza base recipe I'll ever use.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: monsieur sax
The dough was sticky and hard to work with but the final product was delicious. It was my first success with pizza dough.
 
20 May 2005
Reviewed by: MEHUNGRY98
YUM! This crust is amazing. I couldn't find corn flour, so I used threw some corn meal in the blender to make it more fine, and used that. The dough (as other reviewers have said) was extremely sticky, almost more like a batter than a dough at first. I added 1/2 cup more each of all purpose and wheat flours, and then added more flour as necessary while kneading to make it smooth. My husband just has sauce and cheese on his half, while I topped mine with sauce, thin sliced roma tomatoes, broccoli, and mozzarella cheese. It was fantastico!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: schmerna
The dough was sticky and hard to work with but the final product was delicious. It was my first success with pizza dough.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Aug 2001
Reviewed by: EVERGREEN196
This is one of the best home made pizza crust recipes that I've ever made. My husband just loved it, he just holds his breath when I make home made pizza because I can never seem to get a good crust. This one was excellent. A little spicy for my taste buds with the quantity of pepper in it so next time I'll half it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Feb 2001
Reviewed by: YSCHELLE
The flavor and texture of this crust was really good but I found it very difficult to work with because it was really sticky. We made breadsticks for the kids (age 9 and 2) out of the dough and they liked it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Mike Harvey, daPITA
I,too, was compelled to add 1 cup more of flour while the mixture was in the bowl. I added small dustings of flour during the kneading process. As for flavor, this recipe is clearly a five star. I made a thin crust pizza and the crust was crunchy yet easy to bite. Because my sauce has all the herbs in this recipe, I did not add them. Instead, I added Spanish Cracked Anise. (Penzy's.com) After making the pizza crust, I had more than half the recipe remaining. Because of the quantity yeast, I let it rise in a breadpan and baked it as a loaf of bread.(30 min @ 350 degrees.) It turned out a beautiful loaf that is light to eat and very flavorful. Made great toast with butter. I intend to use it for Garlic bread, Bruchetta and croutons.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes