My Reviews (95)

Chopped Cucumber Salad

This bright and toothsome salad has lots of tomatoes, onions, cucumbers and capsicums. Basil and garlic add savour.
Reviews (95)


01 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: LINDA MCLEAN
This was delicious Karen. I skipped the vinegar and used olive oil only and let the salad sit on the counter so the salt could draw out all of the wonderful juices. When you've finished the salad make sure you have some nice crusty bread to soak the great garlic infused liquid. Yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: URBANCHICK
YUM-O, It was perfect complement to Surf & Turf - Gulf Coast Style also found on allrecipes.com Perfect blend of flavors! This was like tabouleh with out the bulgar wheat. I used an orange bell pepper instead of green, and green onions instead of regular onion, rather than vinegar, I used lemon juice. I used some Cavenders seasoning instead of salt, it's a greek seasoning salt. I only used one garlic clove and mixed it in a small container with the oil and lemon juice and seasoning. I let it sit in it's own juices and chill for about an hour before serving. Wow, the flavors really popped! The only thing we would do different next time, or when using the leftovers, add some feta cheese. Great for lunch the next day! We will definately make this one again. This is our new summer favorite!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jul 2001
Reviewed by: JUDYSHAPIRO
Delicious, healthy and perfect for summer. I was able to go right out and pick most of the ingredients from my garden. In our household, we enjoyed it even more by using sweet red bells instead of green. Also, tastes even better when mixed with crumbled feta or blue cheese.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: MKRETCH
This is a wonderful light and flavorful dish! I was feeding a crowd, so I doubled the recipe. I also used plum tomatoes instead of regular, as well as added some olive oil and crumbled feta. Everyone loved it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jul 2004
Reviewed by: NOVICECHEF1
I made this salad for a bridal shower and it was a huge hit. I used green onions and yellow bell peppers for color. I also added sliced black olives and feta cheese for more flavor. Didn't have white wine vinegar so used rice wine vinegar and it seemed to be OK.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 May 2001
Reviewed by: MOLLE888
This salad is the perfect summer food! I just made it and it is fabulous. Fat free too, although adding some olive oil would probably be pretty good too! Thanks for this recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: TB LADY
Easy to make and delicious, my whole family loved it.But I cut the garlic down to about 1 teas. and used 4 green onions. I used dried basil and parsley equal to the amounts of fresh (I know I shouldn't do this, but in a pinch the results are still very good.)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: INTEGRA3
Great fresh taste. I have also added the olive oil Italian dressing and marinated in the refrigerator prior to serving.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: CHEFETTE
This is a good, light summer salad. I used less onion, left out the bell pepper, balsamic vinegar and dried herbs. I'm sure this would be a five star recipe with fresh parsley and basil, had I had them.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Dec 2000
Reviewed by: DEBBIE HINNAH
You must like garlic to enjoy this fresh tomato salad.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes