My Reviews (73)

Best Vegie Burger

This vegie burger is an alternative to its beefy cousin. It's high in fibre and actually tastes delicious.
Reviews (73)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
JDVMD said:
Altered ingredient amounts. Great flavour, but I would suggest using extra firm tofu. Otherwise the paties tend to fall apart.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
THOMCATBOB said:
Used different ingredients. Greetings everyone, I hope that you enjoy the recipe. Some recommendations to share, this was intended to be a vegan burger, but I recommend adding egg for those who are not strictly vegan. Also, when frying, after placing patty onto the pan, wait about a minute or two and then cover, so you can get the steam-fry effect, cripsy on the outside and moist (and cooked) on the inside. Thanks, again.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
SouthernChef said:
Used different ingredients. Love it, but made a few little changes a usual. I had only kidney beans on hand. I added one little can of red beetroot, including juice, for colour and flavour, and mixed it in a blender along with the tofu. I didn't add cooked rice because of the ingreased moisture from the beetroot. I added a whole cup of uncooked bulgur wheat(didn't have oat bran) and a whole cup of oats. I added a lot of Mexican spice and put it in the fridge overnight. The consistency was great the next day to shape little meatballs. They browned nicely and tasted great. To finalize it, I added a jar of tomato sauce and served it with pasta. Next time I will make it with oat bran and the BBQ sauce, which I didn't have either. Hope this helps.
 
20 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: thimbletricks
yummy yum yum. I made the mixture and cooked half straight away and saved some for later, the patties definitely stay together better when refrigerated, I really loved this easy recipe.
 
10 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: curuba
We really enjoyed this. Great flavours and easy to make.
 
21 May 2014
Reviewed by: njorot01
Way better than the lentil variety
 
19 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Maman
Absolutely fantastic recipe - not a breadcrumb in sight! It's a great base recipe you can add any flavours into it which is wonderful. I'm going to use it to make veg sausage rolls now!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: ANNE LAMBORN
Delicious. I'll make this one again.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: EMMYBFREE
Many reviewers suggested adding egg and I concur. Texture was appealing and leftovers warmed well as patties and crumbles in taco salad.
 
15 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: JINGOYE
Greetings everyone, I hope that you enjoy the recipe. Some recommendations to share, this was intended to be a vegan burger, but I recommend adding egg for those who are not strictly vegan. Also, when frying, after placing patty onto the pan, wait about a minute or two and then cover, so you can get the steam-fry effect, cripsy on the outside and moist (and cooked) on the inside. Thanks, again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes