My Reviews (201)

Thai Red Curry Marinade for Prawns

Despite the cliches there's nothing as good as prawns on the barbie! This is a quick and easy marinade using Thai red curry paste and Dijon mustard.
Reviews (201)


15 Mar 2016
Reviewed by: emily55petrie
A very easy recipe with a yummy sauce. The flavour of the sauce is unusual; the tang of the lemon works well with the salty soy sauce and sweet brown sugar. The dijon mustard is balanced by the garlic. When I have made this I don't bother putting it on skewers, I just plop the prawns and sauce into a fairly hot frying pan and cook the prawns for a minute or two on each side. It's easy to over cook a prawn, and doing so results in tough and dry flesh. Definitely a new favourite of mine--left overs have been used in rice paper rolls and taste lovely.
 
29 May 2011
Reviewed by: ah.1965
I have cooked this loads of times. I cook it in a frypan and find it turns out best if the frypan is as hot as you can get it without it catching fire. I love the flavour so thanks for posting.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: carnegie
Stellar. The weather was not conducive to barbecuing, so I poured the prawns and the marinade into a frypan and simmered until the prawns were done. My wife, daughter and I all loved it. My son, well, he is a spice-wuss so he didn't eat, but he said he liked the flavour if it wasn't so hot.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: KymInNM
The flavour was great on these. I used curry powder sice I didn't have paste. I am giving it a 4 star because they turned out a bit dry. No one else complained of this, so it must have been me though, and not the recipe. I'll certainly make it again though. They were still great.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: MARGX2
Great recipe. I used red curry paste, and spicy mustard with the rest of the ingredients, and marinated it overnight. Then I barbecued it...totally delicious, and really spicy, due to the amount of paste I used. I had it with barbecued pineapple slices on the side. Would be great over rice or noodles for the next time I make it.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Lukiesmom
This was very tasty. I like spicy so much, the second time I made it I didn't put the prawns on the skewers, I cooked them in a tin foil "boat". Was way to spicy, I'll stick to the original.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: 4everLuuvd
hmmm The sauce was tasty, and I also threw the whole thing in a frypan for a few minutes, then put it on top of South Beach-friendly cauliflower rice and mushrooms...but I didn't taste so much flavour in the prawns themselves, and to marinate it any longer would have turned it to mush (how do you people marinate seafood for a day without that happening??)' I'm going to work on this one, it has great potential...
 
17 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: naples34102
I prepared the marinade exactly as written. Any substitutions, in my view, would certainly impact the overall flavor intended. We were not disappointed, although hubby thought it was a little salty, even though no additional salt was added. This was a unique combination of marinating ingredients where no one ingredient stood out, creating a flavorful shrimp not dominated or obscured by other seasonings. There is no oil in the recipe, but there IS oil in the curry paste, so if you substitute curry for the curry paste, I'd recommend adding a little vegetable oil to the marinade. We cooked these on the indoor grill on bamboo skewers. I brushed a bit of melted butter over the grilled shrimp skewers for a little richness and shine. Perfect in mere minutes, beautiful and delicious. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: BEMUSED_1
Stellar. The weather was not conducive to grilling, so I poured the shrimp and the marinade into a skillet and simmered until the shrimp was done. My wife, daughter and I all loved it. My son, well, he is a spice-wuss so he didn't eat, but he said he liked the flavor if it wasn't so hot.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: BATCAVES
The flavor was great on these. I used curry powder sice I didn't have paste. I am giving it a 4 star because they turned out a bit dry. No one else complained of this, so it must have been me though, and not the recipe. I'll certainly make it again though. They were still great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes