My Reviews (46)

Quick and Easy Thai-Style Coleslaw

This easy coleslaw has a sweet and tangy blend of Asian flavours, and takes only a few minutes to make. Make it early in the day, and it will be a great with dinner. Refreshing and delicious, it's an ideal summer side dish!
Reviews (46)


28 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Susan Sat Nam
I added cilantro and spring onion. I also used a little cayenne pepper instead of black pepper for a little extra kick.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Annalynn
Very tasty! I can see how some people may not like this because of the fish sauce taste (so if you don't like fish sauce, you should use another recipe). I did add some cilantro and chili sauce for more flavor. I will definitely use this recipe again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Sharon C.
We really liked this, I'm surprised at some of the bad reviews. However, I made it at the last minute, and didn't have any fish sauce, so just skipped that part. I'll definitely make this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: lindsah of the sauga
This did not turn out as well as I expected. I place the blame for that squarely on the shoulders of the packaged coleslaw mix - as a rule really it shouldnt be used unless you have zero time to cook.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Aug 2013
Reviewed by: Kris
Just okay. Needs some onion or something. I added chili garlic sauce, but it still needed something. I also only used maybe 1/2 of the dressing. Definitely recommend adding a little at a time to your liking, or else it's drowning in dressing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Gail A. Guild
We didn't care for the sour, fishy taste of this cole slaw. Maybe it was the brand of fish sauce I used. Oh, well, there are plenty of other salads out there.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: amanda
This was very bad. Their was too much liquid for only bag of one coleslaw mix, and was very tart. The flavors did not blend well at all. Would not recommend this to anyone. Boyfriend said "tastes like ".
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 May 2006
Reviewed by: Caroline C
I did not like this at all. A complete waste of ingredients.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Apr 2019
Reviewed by: icharmeat
I only followed the recipe in that I mosly used the ingredients in the dressing, somewhat to scale as the recipe is written. I used brown sugar in place of honey and only enough to balance the acidity of the lime juice and vinegar. My dressing was not sweet. I didn't measure anything but attempted to maintain proportion. I cut green cabbage and grated carrot plus cilantro and chopped carrots. I put a teaspoon or so of peanut butter in the dressing as well to help it emulsify. Probably used a bit more fish sauce (megachef brand- it is stinky, and allegedly "sweetened" but i find it adds great flavor, especially at its price point) and held back the lime a bit so that lime flavor wasn't too obvious. Toasted sesame oil (i always assume this is what a dressing recipe is calling for when it lists "sesame oil" in this sort of proportion) is very flavorful so I added it to the dressing in drizzles until it tasted right. I suspect i was under the recommended dosage but not by a huge margin. I recommend making this to taste instead of adhering strictly to the recipe. The dressing ingredients make a nice slaw dressing. hack up whatever veg suits you and go to town. I did miss bean sprouts (the store was out) which i like in this type of salad.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jan 2018
Reviewed by: KmbAnder
THIS IS SO EASY AND GOOD! I gave this 4 stars only because I added some stuff to mine. On top of the easy recipe I added 1 tablespoon of Garlic Chili Paste and some fresh cilantro to give it a little bite. Other than that you could keep it the same and it is still amazing. It tangy with just the right amount of sweet and salty with a little heat and the crunch from the peanuts is a surprise when you chew. It is definitely out of my comfort zone of flavors and I am so pleased.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes