My Reviews (106)

Homemade Chocolate Covered Honeycomb

This is a great recipe for homemade Crunchie (TM). It is a simple and delicious honeycomb covered in chocolate and can be served as a Halloween snack.
Reviews (106)


10 Apr 2017
Reviewed by: Kreate
This tasted and worked so good! But remember to stir ALL the sugar in, or u get bits in the finished candy pieces. Otherwise, best recipe for honeycomb I have found!
 
30 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: Lisa K
This recipe was exactly what I was looking for. My brother and I used to fight over the angel food candy every Christmas. It was a favorite of both of ours. After I made this, I couldn't wait for him to try some. Well, as I thought, he couldn't keep his hands off of it. When I told him that I made it, he wouldn't believe me. I actually had to show him the recipe in order to convince him that it wasn't store bought. Here are a few things that you might like to know about this recipe. First of all be sure to use all of the baking powder, stir it in quickly and then pour it into the buttered pan. Make sure you just pour it into your pan, do not spread it around. This recipe is great, but if you want the candy even lighter, be sure to butter the pan all the way up the sides and then put the candy into the oven at 200 to 250 degrees right after you pour it into the pan for ten minutes and then decrease the temperature to 170 degrees for another ten minutes. The candy will puff up and fill the entire pan. It is a good idea to use a metal pan or one of those flexible pans. This makes it easier to get the candy out when it cools. Thanks Debbie, for sharing this recipe with us.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: geri_s
This is great! I have tried a lot of different reipes, and this one is a good one. For the person who said it smells like campfire marshmallows burning; you are probably cooking it on too high heat. I used to burn mine all the time, because I was in a hurry to get it up to the required temperature on the candy thermometer. I have learned to cook it slower, and it turns out every time. I also use light corn syrup, and it tastes good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: MARYSB
Wonderful recipe, brought me back to my favorite childhood treat. BUT much better with real dipping chocolate than the coating.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Dec 2009
Perfect! It is also called fairy food, seafoam, sponge candy, honeycomb, hot air candy, etc. After 8-10 failed batches, I finally found the way to success: If you don’t have a high quality DIGITAL candy thermometer, don’t even try this. The brand I use is CDN. Previously I had tried a cheap analog thermometer and/or testing in cold water, but the candy cooks so quickly that by the time the thermometer registered the right temp (or a sample formed a brittle thread), the candy had already cooked to a much higher temp. It burned EVERY time I tried these methods. Before starting to cook the candy, prepare: Line your pan with non-stick foil. Measure and sift baking soda. Make sure your pan is large enough, as the mixture will foam a great deal after you add the baking soda. Use a heat-proof silicone spatula for stirring the candy mixture. Cook only at medium heat or lower; higher will cause the candy to cook too fast and it will burn. Be ready; the SECOND the candy thermometer registers 295° (300° risks burning), slide your pan off the burner and add the baking soda. Stir quickly, but be sure to incorporate every bit of the soda. (It’s nasty to get even a teeny bite of pure soda!) Pour into the nonstick foil-lined pan as evenly as you can, but resist the urge to spread it. It will fill in the empty spots as it cools and settles. Score cooled candy w/ a serrated knife, then place into a Ziploc bag and break. Pieces will be irregular in shape.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Nov 2014
Reviewed by: Cara Huhman
Yes - finally SUCCESS!! I've been making this candy using this recipe for 4 or 5 yr now. Best candy ever but frustrating to make. We make for Christmas, but it takes 4 - 5 tries to get 2 - 3 good batches. Well, this year I went back and read all the reviews and made some changes and ended up with 2 perfect batches for 2 tries!! Per Lisa K, we sifted the baking soda, used 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar (in place of 1 cup white), used parchment paper to line the pan, put in 225 degree oven for 10 min after we poured into pan, then lowered to 170 for 10 min more (amazed it continues used to puff up), and lastly scored with a knife and then broke by hand into (mostly) perfect pieces (did try the pizza cutter but got very crumbly results. Thought I would put all these tips in one place. I'm so excited I don't have to go through numerous ruined batches to get the couple of good ones I need for the holidays. This truly is a family favorite and want to thank everyone for the great tips!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Dec 2000
Reviewed by: SARA D
This is a really easy recipe. For one who had never made candy or used a candy thermometer until this recipe, I found it very easy. I would also like to stress not to spread the candy once you have placed it in the pan. Makes more than it seems like it is going to.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
Comment:
19 Dec 2011
PhotoGirl said:
How long will these keep? I am planning on making them tomorrow but am not seeing one of the people i am giving them to until the 28th, will they still be ok?
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
11 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: Maria
Very quick and easy to make. Tastes just like the old fashioned Angel Food Candy my husband grew up eating at Christmas time, he said. I used real chocolate (3 cups of semi-sweet chocolate chips) and 1/4 cup of vegetable shortening to make my own chocolate coating (heated it in microwave). Then set the candy in the refrigerator to set up faster.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Beth
The only issue I had with this recipe wasn't really with the recipe. You should note, REMOVE IMMEDIATELY from heat when the desired temp is reached...otherwise, it tastes a little burned.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes