My Reviews (377)

Best Rhubarb Crumble

There's nothing better when rhubarb is in season than this rhubarb dessert with a coarse crumble topping made with oats!
Reviews (377)


07 Apr 2018
Reviewed by: rachhowell80
Followed the recipe. Husband wanted a crunchy topping (crumble) and this is exactly what he got. I added a bit more rhubarb but kept everything else the same. Will make again!
 
22 Jan 2014
Reviewed by: harriette
I did like it a lot. It was a bit on the sweet side and liquid, but it tasted goooood.
 
11 Apr 2013
Reviewed by: Linday4
Did not like this crumble, seemed to be way to much butter.
 
16 May 2007
Reviewed by: BroMama
Very good if you make the changes suggested in the reviews. I’m rating this low because if you make it as is there is not nearly enough fruit and the topping becomes like a hard crust because of too much butter. So, I made the same changes everyone else recommended: DOUBLE THE FRUIT to 6 cups (I used about 4 cups rhubarb and 2 cups strawberries). For the topping I added 1 tsp SALT as well as ¼ tsp ALLSPICE. And definitely use only ½ CUP BUTTER if you want the crumbly topping shown in the picture. I made it both ways so I feel confident with these changes. I did not increase the sugar when I added more fruit and it was sweet enough (rhubarb should have a slight sour). I made this ahead so I could serve a warm desert and it was great. I hade the fruit mixture refrigerated in the baking dish and I just kept the topping separate until it was time to put in the oven. I baked it as directed before I wanted to serve it and topped with vanilla ice cream while it was still warm, yum. I had many requests for the recipe and many rave reviews. Hope this helps – happy baking!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Alicia Wray Nelson
I made several changes based on other reviews. I increased the rhubarb to 6C and added an extra tablespoon of flour to the fruit to thicken it a bit better. I also cut the butter to 3/4C and added a bit of salt and cinnamon to the topping. Otherwise I left the recipe the same. It turned out pretty good with these changes...a good proportion of fruit to topping and a nice combination of sweetness and tartness. The low rating is because the recipe needed to be changed in the first place..."as is" this recipe wouldn't have enough fruit and 1C of butter seemed excessive. In my opinion if a recipe has to be altered this much then it is not deserving of such a high rating.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: Stephanie
I altered this one. I increased rhubarb to 6 cups, the sugar by half a cup and then added a pint of strawberries and a peach, which really adds to the overall flavor. Everyone went nuts over this one. Our house came with an 80 year old rhubarb plant, this was the first recipie I tried for it. Will be making this one, again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Oct 2004
Reviewed by: Beth Hathaway Hundley
Only gave it 5 stars after following other people's suggestions and it was super delish! I used 6 cups rhubarb and 1/2 cup raspberries and 1 and 1/4 cup white sugar and it was still PLENTY sweet. Also, I only had 1/2 cup butter so I decreased the flour to 1 cup and the topping turned out perfectly yummy. There was still lots of topping compared to fruit, so I wouldn't make it with only 3 cups fruit!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Apr 2004
Reviewed by: MADISONS
This is a fantastic rhubarb recipe. I own a small restaurant and this dessert was a huge hit with my customers! I took other reviewers advice and increased the amount of rhubarb to 6 cups and the sugar to 2 cups. The combination was perfect, tart but not too tart and the wonderful sweet topping was just the right balance.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 May 2002
Reviewed by: Esmee Williams
A definite winner!!! Even my husband, who is not a rhubarb fan, loved this dessert. Will definitely make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 May 2006
Reviewed by: OLLIELIVER
I made this recipe using the some of the recommendations; doubled the fruit, halved the topping, and it turned out great!! I used 1 1/2 c sugar, and it was tart, just the way I like it. I would definitely make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes