My Reviews (113)

Easy Sweet and Sour Sauce

This is my quick and easy sweet and sour dipping sauce that I make when I have egg rolls, wontons or stir fried chicken.
Reviews (113)


08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: TROUTS328
This is a great all-round dipping sauce. I use it for spring rolls, coconut prawns and dumplings. I made it a bit thicker, and I also like it with a bit of chilli paste in it.
 
Comment:
08 Oct 2008
CHEF-JEFF said:
Something else. This was really good! I was looking for a sauce to use to make sweet sour chicken with veggies and this worked great. I sauteed some chicken until browned, added sliced carrots, onions red capsicum, cooked for a few more minutes, then added the sauce and let it simmer for about 10 minutes. It thickened a little and coated everything nicely. Easy and tasty!
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Jenelle D
I thought this sauce was absolutely amazing, so much more flavourful than the red goo from the local takeaway.
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Sherrilicious
Very good! It's more sour than sweet, so if you like it sweet then add more of the pineapple juice and brown sugar.
 
05 Jun 2000
Reviewed by: JAYNEL
Very good! It's more sour than sweet, so if you like it sweet then add more of the pineapple juice and brown sugar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 May 2010
Reviewed by: Jillian
Great dipping sauce! If you like more sweet than sour, use rice wine vinegar instead of white vinegar. I also like my sauces a little thicker, so I added a bit more cornstarch as the submitter suggested. If you want a richer color, add a couple drops of red food coloring - it works wonders. This stuff was great and my husband took one taste and all he could say was "Mmmmmmm". We ate this with egg rolls, and it was perfect.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: MELISSA_B
This was really good! I was looking for a sauce to use to make sweet sour chicken with veggies and this worked great. I sauteed some chicken until browned, added sliced carrots, onions red peppers, cooked for a few more minutes, then added the sauce and let it simmer for about 10 minutes. It thickened a little and coated everything nicely. Easy and tasty!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jun 2000
Reviewed by: KMATISHAK
This is a great all-purpose dipping sauce. I use it for spring rolls, coconut shrimp and pot stickers. I made it a bit thicker, and I also like it with red pepper flakes or a bit of chili paste in it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Dec 2010
This came out much thinner than I wanted, so I added another teaspoon of corn starch to a teaspoon of cold water, stirred in and let simmer for 4-6 minutes. Perfect, and I LOVE that it wasn't bright red! Update Jan. 1, 2011: started with 2 tsp corn starch, used seasoned rice wine vinegar, 3/4 tsp canola oil and 1/4 tsp sesame oil, no salt, and left everything else the same, and it was awesome. 5-star keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: Mrs. Sutterpants
the very best homemade recipe so far, only I have had better at restaurants -- I used rice wine vinegar which is an asian ingredient vinegar, & it gave it a more authentic taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes