My Reviews (38)

Sweet Potato Pumpkin Soup

This is basically a pumpkin soup with a chicken stock base but the addition of sweet potatoes adds a little more flavour and colour.
Reviews (38)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
AUNTY M said:
Altered ingredient amounts. i've made this soup twice now and it's abolutely delicious. however i'm a lover of spices, and found that the amount of pumpkin and pototoes in the original recipe are too much in relation to the amount of spices used. therefore, 2nd time round, i only used about half the amount of potatoes, and the result was much better. think i chucked in a few extra cloves of garlic too. **UPDATE**: i've since realised that the sweet potatoes i get here in the netherlands are *huge* in comparison to the size in other countries - an average sweet potato weighs 400 grams - that's probably why i found that there was too much potato in the recipe.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
HEEMBO said:
Made it vegetarian. I made this soup last night - delicious! ... used vegetable stock instead of chicken for a perfect vegetarian meal
 
04 Aug 2015
Reviewed by: juliettedb
Yum yum yum! I used half the cumin and added coconut milk towards the end.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
JDVMD said:
Used different ingredients. I thought this recipe was okay... I liked the "spice rub" idea and the flavour was great but I couldn't get the consistency to come out right. I put it back into the food processor twice to get it creamier with no luck. I added cream and that helped, but not nearly as healthy! I may keep working on it, but not our favourite as it is right now.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
QEMPA said:
Altered ingredient amounts. I love this recipe! I also tried roasting the spices before grinding them, and used a larger quantity of sweet potato wedges- the extras make a great snack!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Alpha
This soup was delicious and a great variation on a family favourite. We served as a starter for a very important dinner party and each guest was amazed at the delicate flavour the spices created. Will defintely use again!!!!!!!!!
 
26 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: rua
i've made this soup twice now and it's abolutely delicious. however i'm a lover of spices, and found that the amount of pumpkin and pototoes in the original recipe are too much in relation to the amount of spices used. therefore, 2nd time round, i only used about half the amount of potatoes, and the result was much better. think i chucked in a few extra cloves of garlic too. **UPDATE**: i've since realised that the sweet potatoes i get here in the netherlands are *huge* in comparison to the size in other countries - an average sweet potato weighs 400 grams - that's probably why i found that there was too much potato in the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 May 2005
Reviewed by: FRASUT
I made this soup last night - delicious! ... used vegetable broth instead of chicken for a perfect vegetarian meal
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Jara
YUMMY! I made this with a Squash instead of Pumpkin since I was given a home-grown squash by a friend. I also added coconut milk and curry spices and then garnished with coriander. It was bloody good! Whenever I make soup, I have to make a HUGE CAULDRON of it and I have several single friends who dislike cooking for one as much as I do! So I have started a 'Soup-of-the-Week' Club where I dole out portions of soup to my friends and neighbours. And they all said that this was one of the best soups I have ever made - very high praise after over a year of soup every week! Hope you enjoy it as much as we did! Sara Ottawa, ON
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: AISLASTRINGER
I love this recipe! I also tried roasting the spices before grinding them, and used a larger quantity of sweet potato wedges- the extras make a great snack!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes