My Reviews (53)

Kumara and Black Eye Bean Soup

This is a thick and hearty soup which combines kumara and black eyed beans in sweet and spicy herbs.
Reviews (53)


29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: JOSIE
This sounded strange, but was absolutely great. I was very pleased with the soup, which was easy to prepare, and my family liked it. Made for really delicious lunch the next day after the flavours married overnight.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
MikesWife115 said:
Something else. This is a very flavorful, serviceable weeknight soup. For those who think it a bit odd, a similar, sweet potato-tomato soup is very popular in parts of the Carribean. Relying on that experience, I made a few changes in the ingredients and method of preparation. Agreeing with prior reviews, I reduced the cinnamon to 1/2 tsp. because it's naturally assertive, eliminated the oregano, basil and rosemary, since it didn't fit the flavor profile and used canned tomatoes. The powdered onion went, too, since there was plenty of fresh. I used minced, seeded, habanero chilli in place of the cayenne and crushed red capsicum, because it's flavor works well with the other ingredients. I sauteed the spices with the onion, celery and minced garlic,which I doubled. To reduce the sweetness and highlight the sweet potato's natural flavor a bit more, I made sure not to buy "candied" sweet potato. I used bottled roasted capsicum, since I had some left over from another dish. I also eliminated the water and used two cups of low sodium stock. Everything was partially hand blended at the end, before adding leftover, shredded roast chicken in the last five minutes of cooking, for a protein boost. Tasty in front of the TV!
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
bostonluv said:
Altered ingredient amounts. My husband has declared this "the best stew". I used fresh black eyed peas and a fresh sweet potato. Since I used fresh veggies I had to increase the veg stock to 3 cups and I was also more generous with the sugar and spices. I also increased the cooking time to about 40 minutes. This was very hearty and easy to make.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
WALMY said:
Used different ingredients. This was awesome! I did make a few changes:Instead of roasting red capsicum, I cut red, yellow and green capsicum into chunks and sauteed then with the onions I substituted 1 can of stewed tomatoes for the plum tomatoes. I added 1 large minced thai chilli pepper instead of cayenne. I added a little bit more cumin than a pinch (probably 1/4- 1/2 tsp). I simmered it for an hour to really bring out the flavours. I blended it with a hand blender for about 5 seconds just to make the stock a little thicker. I also sprinkled it with asiago before serving. Definitely a good recipe! This would probably make a yummy crock pot soup!
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Altered ingredient amounts. Beautiful! Thank you Big Rey, for your review, as I took your lead and I'm so glad I did. I used vegetable stock instead of water; didn't have any stewed tomatoes on hand, so used diced, and used roasted red capsicum. I can't imagine how it would taste if I used any more than 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. That was enough. Once it was done, I pureed half of the soup ~ it looks, smells, and tastes absolutely wonderful!
 
31 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: Big Rey
This is a very flavorful, serviceable weeknight soup. For those who think it a bit odd, a similar, sweet potato-tomato soup is very popular in parts of the Carribean. Relying on that experience, I made a few changes in the ingredients and method of preparation. Agreeing with prior reviews, I reduced the cinnamon to 1/2 tsp. because it's naturally assertive, eliminated the oregano, basil and rosemary, since it didn't fit the flavor profile and used canned stewed tomatoes. The powdered onion went, too, since there was plenty of fresh. I used minced, seeded, habanero chile in place of the cayenne and crushed red pepper, because it's flavor works well with the other ingredients. I sauteed the spices with the onion, celery and minced garlic,which I doubled. To reduce the sweetness and highlight the sweet potato's natural flavor a bit more, I made sure not to buy "candied" sweet potato. I used bottled roasted pepper, since I had some left over from another dish. I also eliminated the water and used two cups of low sodium broth. Everything was partially hand blended at the end, before adding leftover, shredded roast chicken in the last five minutes of cooking, for a protein boost. Tasty in front of the TV!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: MINDCRUSHER1376
My husband has declared this "the best stew". I used fresh black eyed peas and a fresh sweet potato. Since I used fresh veggies I had to increase the veg broth to 3 cups and I was also more generous with the sugar and spices. I also increased the cooking time to about 40 minutes. This was very hearty and easy to make.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: BROOKSIE1920
This was awesome! I did make a few changes:Instead of roasting red pepper, I cut red, yellow and green peppers into chunks and sauteed then with the onions I substituted 1 can of stewed tomatoes for the plum tomatoes. I added 1 large minced thai chili pepper instead of cayenne. I added a little bit more cumin than a pinch (probably 1/4- 1/2 tsp). I simmered it for an hour to really bring out the flavors. I blended it with a hand blender for about 5 seconds just to make the broth a little thicker. I also sprinkled it with asiago before serving. Definitely a good recipe! This would probably make a yummy crock pot soup!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: Jen R.
Wow, so so so good! I followed "Big Rev"s suggestions of reducing the cinnamon, leaving out some spices, sautéing the spices with the onions, adding chicken, and skipping the water and using all broth. I still think there should be more broth, so I'd probably go with 3 cups next time. I did not add the bell pepper (I am allergic), and I did not have Cumin or coriander so I substituted with a pinch of curry powder which has both in it. I also used a fresh sweet potato instead of canned (just simmer it 45 minutes instead of 20). I found in my store's produce section "reconstituted" black eyed peas (brand name Melissa’s) which basically just saved me having to soak the dried peas overnight (I don’t like the canned version). All in all, this was a tasty dish and I plan to make it again for a dinner party in a few weeks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: Chari Campbell
Beautiful! Thank you Big Rey, for your review, as I took your lead and I'm so glad I did. I used vegetable broth instead of water; didn't have any stewed tomatoes on hand, so used diced, and used roasted red peppers. I can't imagine how it would taste if I used any more than 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. That was enough. Once it was done, I pureed half of the soup ~ it looks, smells, and tastes absolutely wonderful!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes