My Reviews (40)

Ginger Lime Crab Cakes

Tasty crab meat combined with mayonnaise, spring onions, lime juice, freshly grated ginger and Tabasco sauce. They are dipped in egg, crumbed then fried.
Reviews (40)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
CJSEMMLER said:
Used different ingredients. These crab cakes were delicious! Fresh tasting with all of the ginger, coriander and lime. Thespring onions make it perfect. I served these for New Years Day Dinner and they were a hit. I used about a 1/4 cup of chopped fresh coriander because we like the herb but otherwise everthing else was perfect.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: ATOMICLUSH
Hands down the best I've ever ever ever tasted (and I have lived where there are a LOT of crabcakes eaten, hehe). This is THE kind of food we like...traditional dishes with a slight twist not so overpowerful that it obscures the original flavor intended. In this case, the crab flavor mixes wonderfully with the slighty more than subtle taste of ginger..and the aftertaste of the ginger lingers in your mouth. If you do not like ginger, you will not like this recipe. If you like adventurous recipes, you will like this. Be certain to use fresh ginger, NOT ginger spice. The only other hint is to cut down on mayo just a bit. Otherwise, the same old advice about not handling the cakes too much applies, as they easily break apart. (I held the patty in one hand and used the other to cover it with egg, then breading. Gets to be a mess, but would rather have a mess than broken patties). Thanks, Dakota, for this WONDERFUL keeper!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: MEEMEEBULUGA
Pretty good. I will definately try this again. Although I will cut down on the mayo a little bit. They do also need "something else"...I'm not sure what yet. Maybe more hot sauce. I will play around with it. I also regret frying them instead of broiling. They soaked up a lot of oil.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: SUNSTAR_HIPPIE
These were very good, but milder than I expected. The crab flavour was really what came through. This was just about the best crab cake recipe I've found, but if I make it again, I'll probably add a little more ginger (I like enough fresh ginger to give my food heat) and maybe a touch of fresh crushed garlic.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Serena
What a shame I can only give this recipe 5 stars. It deserves many more!! Thanks for sharing this one Dakota. It's a keeper.
 
21 May 2012
Reviewed by: TEDJAN
This is an excellent dish, was very much enjoyed and shall be again. Thanks Dakota for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: Bill Echols
What a shame I can only give this recipe 5 stars. It deserves many more!! Thanks for sharing this one Dakota. It's a keeper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Sep 2003
Reviewed by: lightly salted
These were very good, but milder than I expected. The crab flavor was really what came through. This was just about the best crab cake recipe I've found, but if I make it again, I'll probably add a little more ginger (I like enough fresh ginger to give my food heat) and maybe a touch of fresh crushed garlic.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 May 2003
Reviewed by: KAREN WANG
Hands down the best I've ever ever ever tasted (and I lived in the Northeast where there are a LOT of crabcakes eaten, hehe). This is THE kind of food we like...traditional dishes with a slight twist not so overpowerful that it obscures the original flavor intended. In this case, the crab flavor mixes wonderfully with the slighty more than subtle taste of ginger..and the aftertaste of the ginger lingers in your mouth. If you do not like ginger, you will not like this recipe. If you like adventurous recipes, you will like this. Be certain to use fresh ginger, NOT ginger spice. The only other hint is to cut down on mayo just a bit. Otherwise, the same old advice about not handling the cakes too much applies, as they easily break apart. (I held the patty in one hand and used the other to cover it with egg, then breading. Gets to be a mess, but would rather have a mess than broken patties). Thanks, Dakota, for this WONDERFUL keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Bonsai
Ginger is critical to this recipe. It was a complete hit, but since my family likes spice, I added extra ginger. Take care in turning tthe cakes as they are very fragile until turned at least once.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes