My Reviews (5,286)

Carrot Cake

One of the all-time great classic cakes, carrot cake is light, tasty, healthy and perfect with cream cheese icing!
Reviews (5286)


29 Dec 2017
Reviewed by: SamuelRoberts
Didn't work, the top was hard while the inside was liquid and oily. I think too much oil and not enough flour. Not trying again.
 
23 Dec 2017
Reviewed by: rmgib64
Followed recipe exactly, burnt top and liquid inside. I will revert back to my original recipe, very disappointed :-( :-(
 
22 Jun 2017
Reviewed by: Gerty1000
Currently still in the oven 1.5 hrs later. Wobbly in the centre. Disappointed, now as my son will not have his birthday cake ready in time. Was 250G flour sufficient???
 
28 Mar 2017
Reviewed by: CoralieWathen
I followed the recipe exactly and ended up with a burnt top crust and the insides stayed as liquid. Disappointed as I have made carrot cakes before and never had any problems.. (No the cake was not left in longer than 40 mins)
 
17 Apr 2016
Reviewed by: bevsteve
beautiful moist cake, sold some at a horse show today, everyone loved it
 
08 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: gneebeanie
After reading through 4-5 pages of the reviews, I consolidated the most referred alterations to this recipe to: 1) using 1 cup brown sugar and 1 cup white sugar 2) adding an extra teaspoon of vanilla extract 3) adding 1 8oz. can of crushed pineapple (I squeezed out most of the juice before adding it, I didn't want any extra fluids in the cake) 4) Added 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg 5) added 1 extra teaspoon of cinnamon 6) used 3/4 cup canola oil and 1/2 cup applesauce. The result came out incredibly delicious - the cake was very flavorful and moist. For the frosting, I only used 3.5 cups of powdered sugar, and it was more than sweet enough, with a nicely balanced cream cheese vs. sweet flavor. If I would change anything again, I would use less pecans - it's a bit too nutty for my personal tastes. Also, I followed another reviewer's suggestion of grating the carrots with the large grater side (the one you use for cheese) so that you don't end up with a bunch of carrot mush and juice that can't be used. Will definitely make again! This is probably the best carrot cake I've ever had.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: KAELHA
I chose this recipe specifically because it did not contain pineapple. It was wonderful just as written. (stepping on my soapbox)I think that a recipe should be reviewed for it's own merits with minimal changes. Rating a recipe that you have made many changes to messes up the rating system. You are not rating the listed recipe...you are rating your own! Go ahead and submit it!(stepping down now..thanks lol) That said, I forgot to pick up pecans, but added some finely chopped hazelnuts I had on hand. : )
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: CYNJAMS
This is a great recipe. Some other reviewers had problems with the center falling-these tips may help. Cakes will sink or fall because of the following 1.Overbeating-too much air is incorporated 2.Underbaking- oven temp is too low or too short a baking time 3.Over or under measurement of ingredients 4.Using too small/large of baking pan 5. Make sure your oven temp is correct-preheat for at least 30 min. and check to make sure your oven is heating properly by using an oven thermometer for accuracy and finally, only open your oven door if you have to and then make sure 3/4 of the cooking time is up. Happy baking everyone!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: TraceyH
This is just my humble opinion, but I think it's very rude of people changing the recipe so much and then bragging about it like it worked out better than the one given. I don't understand why people make so many changes to the recipes on this site. It's out of control and almost seems like people want to one up the person putting the recipe on the site just to show they could do it better. I have not made this recipe yet but I will tomorrow, without all the brown sugar, without the change in oil, without the applesauce, etc. Post your own recipe instead of making these unneeded changes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: Jeanine
Great recipe. It was my 1st homemade carrot cake & it turned out perfect. I made a layer cake using 2 9"round pans & cooked at 350F for 35 minutes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes