My Reviews (24)

Basic Spelt Loaf

Spelt is a high protein wheat flour with a distinctive flavour and texture. Try this delicious bread.
Reviews (24)


30 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: me_chel
Love this recipe, will definitely make again. First time making bread and it turned out beautifully. I made just one loaf by halving the recipe. I changed the castor sugar to sucanant sugar. I also used 2 cups of white spelt mixed with one cup of wholemeal rather than just white. And measured 2 1/4 teaspoons of dried yeast rather than sachets.
 
Comment:
14 Jul 2008
J G said:
Used different ingredients. Very flavourful chewy bread. I used honey instead of sugar which could account for why it didn't rise the second time as well as I would have liked, but it still came out very good.
 
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: MRSWIFEY
This is GREAT - it WORKED, was easy (although it takes hours) and was yummy. Thanks very much Patsy. The outside of the loaf was crunchy and the inside soft. By the second day the bread is not so fresh and crunchy but can be easily cut very thin and makes wonderful crispy toast. I am allergic to wheat and baking powder and this is the about the tenth recipe that I have tried and the first and only one so far that has worked - I am new to baking ! By the way my second attempt was even better than the first and rose more. I found that it was important to follow the temp guidelines and managed to keep the constant temp during rising by putting the bowl with the dough in an esky (Australian for cooler or picnic or insulated box) with a cup of boling water and thermometer. Temprature and humidity was constant. I am looking for more baking recipes to play with that do not use wheat or baking powder.
 
Comment:
14 Jul 2008
Used different ingredients. This was brilliant! I used demerara sugar instead of caster.
 
Comment:
14 Jul 2008
Gala said:
Used different ingredients. The loaves turned out perfect. Crispy crust with soft inner core. Great the next day for sandwiches or toast. I subbed white spelt, dark brown sugar and organic apple juice to add a little more flavour.
 
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: ANAYA1978
A bit dry.
 
26 Jun 2004
Reviewed by: MRSWIFEY
This is GREAT - it WORKED, was easy (although it takes hours) and was yummy. Thanks very much Patsy. The outside of the loaf was all crunchy and the inside soft. By the second day the bread is not so fresh and crunchy but can be easily cut very thin and makes wonderful crispy toast. I am allergic to wheat and baking powder and this is the about the tenth recipe that I have tried and the first and only one so far that has worked - I am new to baking ! By the way my second attempt was even better than the first and rose more. I found that it was important to follow the temp guidelines and managed to keep the constant temp during rising by putting the bowl with the dough in an esky (Australian for cooler or picnic or insulated box) with a cup of boling water and thermometer. Temprature and humidity was constant. I am looking for more baking recipes to play with that do not use wheat or baking powder.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: J G
Very flavorful chewy bread. I used honey instead of white sugar which could account for why it didn't rise the second time as well as I would have liked, but it still came out very good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: FELLOESERVANTINCHRIST
This was deeelish!I used turbinado sugar instead of white. I also, mixed half and half of whole spelt and white spelt flour.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: Gala
The loaves turned out perfect. Crispy crust with soft inner core. Great the next day for sandwiches or toast. I subed White spelt, brown sugar, and organic unfiltered apple juice to add a little more flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes