My Reviews (268)

Wholemeal Blueberry Muffins

These healthy muffins are made with wholemeal flour, apple sauce and fresh blueberries for a muffin that is as tasty as it is healthy. Enjoy these with a bit of butter.
Reviews (268)


15 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
I made three small changes: I used a teaspoon each of baking powder and baking soda, melted butter instead of vegetable oil and I used buttermilk instead of regular milk. My applesauce was homemade. I always bake my muffins at 350 for 20 minutes. Nothing wrong with this recipe's bake time, it's just something I've always done (I bake A LOT of muffins, too!) These muffins turned out so good! Just the right amount of sweetness, perfectly moist, very flavorful. My sons and I really liked the combination of the blueberries and applesauce. Out of 12 muffins, there's two left. My sons ate most of them up this morning!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: Jackson's Mama
So delicious! A used frozen blueberries becuase I didn't have fresh on hand and added a crumb toping (from the banana crumb muffin recipe on this site) - Sprinkle over muffin batter a mix of 1/3 cup brown sugar, 2 tbl flour, 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon, 1 tbl butter.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: aliceandbrian
I've never tried a recipe that had no reviews written yet, but these looked good, so I thought I'd take a chance. So glad I did, because these are excellent!!! I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out very well. I love that these taste like muffins and not cake. I got 18 muffins, not 12. If I had filled the muffin cups fuller, I could have gotten the 12 as stated in the recipe. But it would have been nearly to the very top of the tin, and I didn't think you should fill them that much. Next time I make them (maybe tomorrow) I will see what happens when I put all the batter in 12 muffin cups. Usually I try to make a recipe healthier, but this one is great as is!! (And I do love sweets, so this isn't coming from someone who only eats "healthy" food). My 3 year old also loves them. Thanks Rebecca, for sharing your recipe! Oh, and as a side note I grind my own whole wheat flour and then put it in the freezer...so it is more fresh than what you can buy at the store. I don't know how much that has to do with how great these turned out. Oh, one more thing! I only had frozen blueberries, so I just added them right from the freezer. They were not fully frozen but that's because my freezer doesn't work very well. UPDATE: I made these again this morning and only made 12. The cups look more like 3/4 full, but they rose nicely and turned out well!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: Maru *Ü*
Great, I used Splenda. I made them with chocolate chips and in another occasion with blueberries. One tip: whatever you use, cover them with flour first (just enough to coat them and shake the excess) This will prevent the fruit (or choco chips) to sink in the bottom of the cups.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: Erin
I never rate anything online, but I loved, loved, loved these muffins. I did add the tsp. of baking soda and baking powder and used butter in place of the vegetable oil as another reviewer recommended. I also used whole wheat pastry flour in place of whole wheat flour, which I find has a much lighter consistency.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: dg3636
These muffins turned out great! I made only one change - I used a 6 ounce container of fat free vanilla yogurt instead of the oil. They are delicious, moist, and full of blueberries.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Kendra99
Great recipe! So easy and with great results. I made these while camping and I didn't have applesauce with me so I shredded an apple to use instead. It worked/tasted wonderful.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: brandysue
These are great! I doubled the recipe for 2 dozen and it made even more than that. I followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of using white whole wheat flour (its what I had). It probably made them a bit lighter than using regular whole wheat flour. On our way to share them at a playdate!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: outnumbered
Made as is, except for adding a t. of vanilla. I used frozen wild blueberries - excellent recipe. Moist, flavorful, and simple!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Hikaru
My first muffins. The recipe was so easy. They turned out great. Thanks because I feel really good right know.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes