My Reviews (83)

Slow Cooker Pie Mince

This mince is great on hamburger buns, rice, over sausages or in your meat pies. It's beef mince, onion, garlic, celery, mustard, brown sugar and tomato sauce.
Reviews (83)


20 May 2011
Reviewed by: erin.hooper
Very good recipe!!! My family loves 'sloppy joes', but I hate the sauce out the can because it is so sweet. This made a great sloppy joe that my family loved and I did too. I cooked it in a skillet instead of in the slow cooker and it turned out great. I omitted celery, upped the garlic, salt, pepper, and vinegar. I also used a can of tomato paste and cut down the ketchup to get rid of some of the sweetness. Overall, very good recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Lillie
Oh my goodness this came out great. So tasty and super simple to make. The only thing I tweaked was I seasoned the ground beef with seasoned salt, pepper, cumin and a dash of red pepper flakes before I added it to my slow cooker. Also, I added 5 cloves of garlic instead of 2 (I love garlic).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: xlucyferx
I made this using vegetarian fake "beef" crumbles, and it was so delicious my fiance forgot it wasn't meat (we're on a low calorie diet)!! the only thing I changed was using a chipotle flavored ketchup as it was all we had. I think it would also be great with chicken or brisket! Thank you so much for sharing, we will be making this again!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: JANSPITZ
This is the basicly same recipe I use minus the celery and slow cooker. It's only a half hour in a pan. Very tasty and fast. Great with veggie and salad or fruit.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: dunndre
WOW!! I made this tonight for the first time. I was only making it for myself so I pretty much cut the recipe in half. After a few hours of cooking the smell made me just want to add pickle slices and a touch of pickle juice, it was amazing. I ate the meat on a hamburger bun like a sloppy joe and in a tortilla as a burrito. Both were unbelievable! So easy and so good
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: Rho
LOVE this! Used it for a Girl Scout dinner. Added 4lbs of beef, so also added a Manwich can too, but the flavoring was SO good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: MammaBrown317
Great recipe! Only thing I did different was omit the celery and use Sweet Baby Ray's Honey Chipotle BBQ sauce instead of ketchup. It was awesome as sloppy joes on some Hawaiin buns, even my very picky 2yr old ate it up! I will never make sloppy joes from a can again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Anne
I made this with ground venison and ground beef. It was delicious. Will definitely keep this recipe to be used again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: Barbara Call
This is exactly the same way I have always made mine. I dont add celery or the minced garlic but do add finely chopped peppers. My soon to be hubby does not like the sweetness, so I compromise by adding a can of tomatoe paste to cut down on the sweetness. I also use a teaspoon of worchestershire sauce (more or less to taste) and a dash or two of chili powder.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Kim
Mid summer we are tired of burgers, brats and hot dogs at parties. This was the perfect alternative. Like others I added tomato paste 2 - 6 oz cans) to cut the sweetness. I'm not an onion fan yet since it was cooked most of the day, the onions were stewed and blended great. I will make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes