My Reviews (423)

Moroccan Chicken Marrakesh

This chicken marrakesh is a Moroccan inspired dish that is slow cooked with chicken, onion, garlic, carrots, kumara, chick peas, turmeric, cumin and tomatoes.
Reviews (423)


27 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Occasional Cooker
Excellent! A delicious, easy, healthy, and budget friendly one-dish meal. I made it as written. The flavors blended nicely and it smelled wonderful while it was cooking. I cooked it on high for just under 4 hours and stirred it initially and then stirred one about half way through to blend everything and distribute liquid and had no problem with the chicken breasts drying out. UPDATE: I made this again and added red and green bell peppers and broccoli slaw to increase the vegetables and I doubled the spices except salt. Since I increased the vegetables I decided to add another can of diced tomatoes and that was a mistake because then it added too much liquid. I recommend not adding additional liquid even though it may look dry in the beginning because it makes its own sauce as it cooks. Also, this time it seemed the additional liquid diluted the spices as it was not as flavorful as the first time even though I doubled the spices this time. Next time I will add the additional vegetables but stick to 1 can of tomatoes and double the spices. It is a delicious recipe. If trying it for the first time I recommend following the recipe as written. UPDATE II: While eating leftovers of this recipe my husband declared this was the best dish I have made. So it is a winner.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Donna
A very flavorful and healthy meal that's ridculously easy to put together. Next time will cut up the sweet potatoes a little smaller so they cook at the same rate as the remaining ingredients.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: manwithgills
Great balance of flavor. This is one of the only ways I like sweet potatoes. The only change I would suggest is switching to boneless skinless chicken thighs. Simmering breast meat for long periods of time makes the chicken dry. I get that this is a stew but if you make the recipe with thigh meat you will notice a major difference in the texture and flavor of the stew.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: bakergrl
This was an easy to make, very tasty, one-pot meal and my 'meat and potatoes' guys loved it..I didn't have fresh sweet potatoes, so I used canned, draining the syrup off first; no garbanzo beans, but we found great northern worked well..I added a pinch of ground red pepper for zing and it worked perfectly. I just made it this evening, in fact, we just left the table 20 mins ago! Very good recipe! Thank you for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Louise Genge Stewart
I made this today & it was delicious. I only had black beans & they worked well. I used 1/2 boneless skinless chicken & 1/2 skinless chicken drums but next time I will use all drums or thighs as the dark meat is so much more flavorful. I also added a cup of chicken broth. A definite keeper...thanks for the recipe !
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: Rock_lobster
Slow Cooker Chicken Marrakesh Haiku: "In minority. This did not blow us away. Had to toss the rest." Unlike other reviews, we didn't really care for this dish at all. Easy enough to prepare (although I halved it for 2 adults and a child), but not well received at dinnertime. My daughter and husband picked out the chicken reluctantly, and while I ate a full serving, I found myself burping the flavors of it the rest of the evening, much to my stomach's dismay. Something about that particular combo of spices and ingredients just didn't sit right w/ us. Fun to try new things though!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: Saveur
I really enjoyed this quick and simple chicken stew. I just threw the ingredients into the slow cooker last night, refridgerated, and had hubs turn on about 9:00 am this morning. Slow cooked for about 8 hours before turning off and serving over rice. I only used 1 lb boneless, skinless tenderloins, and did add some chicken broth when I got home as this was a tad on the dry side after that cooking time. Loved the spices, I would definitely double them when making next time. I just added them to the tomatoes and juice, mixed, and poured over the stew. I also subbed black beans for garbonzos, just personal preference. thanks for sharing this, KCOOPER!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: CaptainHotpants
This recipe was delicious! I made it as directed, except I put my chicken breasts into the slow cooker frozen (I think that helped keep them from drying out), and shredded them in the last half hour of cooking. Next time I'll double the spices, because it wasn't quite as flavorful as I was hoping for, omit the carrots, because it already has enough sweetness going on in the recipe, and add some fresh cilantro and a handful of raisins for extra flavor and texture.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: AnitaConchita
Made this recipe as written, but also threw in some cilantro, since that appears in a lot of Moroccan dishes, and it was delicious. Be careful when serving though, because the sweet potatoes get crumbly and mushy. Served it with couscous, and they went well together. Even my boyfriend who doesn't generally like sweet potatoes enjoyed it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: squid
Made as written,and we really liked it,the sauce is very nice. As others have mentioned before me I added a litle chick.broth in the last hr. I served it w/over rice. W
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes