My Reviews (80)

Mexican Shredded Beef

A beef roast slow cooked all day in onion, bay, garlic, vinegar, tomato and chilli powder then pulled apart with forks. Its best served with tortillas or in tacos.
Reviews (80)


25 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: todd@toddvance.net
This turned out great, but I added a few ingredients to the sauce for added flavor; 1/4 cup of white vinegar, 1 chipolte pepper and a couple of dashes of hot pepper sauce. The flavor was fantastic and I would make this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: jensenly
This was everything a slow cooker recipe is supposed to be: easy, not a lot of ingredients, and great outcome. Next time, I will probably brown the meat before adding to the slow cooker just to give it another layer of flavor. Great basic recipe that could easily be customized to be more spicy or more intense, depending on your flavor buds. This also would be a great dish to serve at a party - it appeals to many different palates. Thumbs up!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: kskalsky
Slow clap. I used as a base, as i do most recpies I get. I love garlic, and spicy items. I modified it to fit my taste. I think without it it still would have been great. I love this and it showed me how to really cook the roast and have the true shred to the meat. Cant thank you enough. Exploding high 5.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: racheld
It tastes good, but more like a stew or bbq than barbacoa.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Brooke'smom
Great recipe!!! I had to alter it to fit into a weeknight menu as most people are not home to stop the cooking process after 4 hours. So what I did was follow the direction my only change was cook my meat on low for 8 hours. After that I followed the directions and returned it back to the crock pot for 1 hour on high... I also added a good amount of garlic salt to the meat when it was cooking on high, it gave it such great flavor.. This is an amazing recipe and tastes so wonderful!!!! You will be so happy you made it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Kimbra
This was very tender and moist. It was seasoned enough for our palates so I added additional garlic salt and some chipotle chili powder to liven it up a bit. We made burritos with it the first night, and used the leftovers in quesadillas! It's a great alternative to the standard pot roast! I'll definitely make it again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Linda_a126
I followed all the instructions and after I tasted the paste I had second thoughts about putting it on the meat. I did not marinate, just added paste and covered the pan. My 12lb brisket was in the oven 5hrs and 40 mins. I discarded the juices and made tacos with corn tortillas, cilantro, tomatoe, Mexican crumbled cheese, chopped onion, lime juice and added homeade salsa! These were DELISHiOUS!! My Caucasian family loved them! Thanks a bunch for this great recipe! I will have pictures posted
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: waylon1981
Super simple and easy. This is great in quesadillas, tacos, burritos, etc. I followed the recipe exactly and it was fantastic!! I think next time I might add some chipotle in adobo for extra heat as I like it a little spicier than most. Excellent!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: joliemua
Fantastic! Another hit with the entire family. Used a little less chili powder and cooked all day in the crock pot to give it that extra tenderness. Served with black beans and fideo. Perfect meal.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: Mark S
I was disappointed. It's not bad, but it's not like authentic barbacoa.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes