My Reviews (168)

Quinoa Chilli Con Carne

The beef bean and quinoa chilli con carne has the flavours of onion, garlic, chilli powder, jalapeno chilli, green capsicum, red capsicum, zucchini and corn.
Reviews (168)


31 Oct 2012
Reviewed by: HQ
Perfect amount of chilli in this recipe. I added in some tomato paste and used kidney beans instead of black beans. Pretty easy to pull together.
 
22 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: TammyLiz
I LOVED this. I doubled the recipe so I could take dinner to a friend as well and it turned out to be a HUGE pot of food enough to feed both of our families dinner twice with more for a lunch as well! Because kids were going to be eating it I skipped the jalepeno and only added half the chili powder. It was not spicy at all, but it was still full of flavor! I did have to add some liquid, and I used a can of chicken broth (or half a can for a single recipe). I will definitely be making this again. EDIT: Now that I have made this a second time I will say that I believe that the flavor is much improved by cooking the quinoa in chicken broth (or vegetable broth if you prefer) instead of water. I think I did this without even thinking about it the first time because I almost always do when cooking grains. This time I didn't bother with it, and the flavor was not as good. I remedied it by dissolving some "Better than Bouillon" in a couple of tablespoons of water and stirring this into the finished chili.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: Erika
Wow, so good (we love quinoa), I omitted the zucc (didn't have one) and the meat and added a can of V8 as it was quite dry. Excellent flavour and left overs for lunches! We will make this at least once a month, thanks for the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: brookev
I liked this a lot but had to add some water to keep it from getting too thick. Also, with personal taste, I just like things a bit spicier so added some ground red pepper. I served mine over a baked potato with shredded low fat cheese and fat free sour cream and it was great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: pinkypink
This is an amazing chili recipe! I followed the directions exactly except that I cooked the chili in the crock pot. I didn't add the quinoa to crock pot because I was afraid it would dry out into porridge. I cooked it on low for 15 hours and then added the cooked quinoa to the finished chili. The chili was a tiny bit watery from the crock pot, but it thickened up nicely once I added the quinoa. This is a really tasty and healthy recipe. I topped it with a bit of avocado and cheddar cheese.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 May 2011
Reviewed by: Rock_lobster
Quinoa Chili Haiku: "Magical quinoa, elevates chili to 'wow!' A little too thick." This chili is heavenly, and we adored the earthy bite of the quinoa addition. I only wish that I'd added some diced canned chipotles in adobo, per the other recipe on here for "Black bean quinoa chili" b/c I think that would've added a special flavor that this seemed to be missing. Otherwise, I was faithful to the recipe's ingredients, but I put everything (save the cooked quinoa) in the crockpot b4 leaving for work in the a.m., and stirred the quinoa in when I got home. The quinoa balloons up so I only made about 3/4 c., and then it begins to absorb all of what remains of the liquid in the chili (which really, is only that from the canned tomatoes), so I had to add a little water to counter the gummy thickness. With a sprinkle of cheese and a handful of cilantro, this recipe has transformed us into quinoa+chili junkies.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 May 2011
Reviewed by: A & R's Mommy
I was doing a cleanse and decided to give this recipe a try (without the ground beef) to add a little variety to my boring cleanse diet. What a pleasant and tasty surprise this dish turned out to be! I never would have thought of using quinoa this way. Thanks for the recipe! It is now a part of our regular rotation
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: Elaine M Schechter
We LOVED this recipe. Instead of beef, I used ground turkey (dieting here) and didn't put in any of the jalapeno (kids). I added a little extra cumin instead and left out the chili powder. Kids loved it as it was so colourful & the hubby too. Definitely making this again and again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Sarah
Wonderful! This dish is delicious, hearty, and healthy... what more could you want? The only thing I did differently was that I added about a cup of vegetable broth when I added the tomatoes as the chili was very thick and I didn't think it would hold the quinoa well. It was a little "soupy" but when I added the quinoa at the end it soaked everything up to create a thicker consistency (which I prefer when it comes to chili). My boyfriend would have liked it a little spicier so I think I will add a bit more kick to it next time. Overall, a wonderful meal that I will be making again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: fierce164
This is fantastic. I made it with the intention of freezing it in portions, then reheating at work, so I wasn't too excited about it at the time. When the time to reheat came, it was incredible. I even got multiple "That smells GOOD" comments from cubemates. Definitely a must try!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes