My Reviews (55)

Chick Pea Stew

A stew made with onion, stewed tomatoes, sultanas, chickpeas and kale, seasoned with coriander, cayenne, garam masala, curry powder then simmered until tender.
Reviews (55)


18 Jul 2012
Reviewed by: Gerry
Nice little recipe for a tasty evening vegie meal.
 
28 May 2011
Reviewed by: God
This requires more cooking time for the flavours to become friends with each other; and also for the kale to cook and the chick peas to soften a little.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: Shoegirl1129
A++++ This recipe is AMAZING!!! I do agree with one of the other reviewer's, this recipe does require more cooking time. Especially for the potatoes to get soft. I did change 2 things. I used fire-roasted tomatoes instead of regular diced tomatoes. I couldn't find garam masala, I used Shaan Chana Masala from the Indian Store and I think it worked out fine. I paired this recipe with rice. I will definitely make this over and over!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: norskie
This stew was delicious! I used the ingredients search tool to find something where I could use the kale and cilantro I had on hand. I was so happy to find this healthy and tasty stew. I substituted carrots for the potatoes and I added a can of chicken broth instead of tomato sauce (I loved that this made the stew more soupy - and I didn't have any tomato sauce). I didn't have any raisins, but I'll try that next time. The curry seasonings were so good. The cilantro on top added the finishing touch. I'm starting to really appreciate kale. Thanks Mari.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: Mary G
This is an amazing recipe! I did have to cook it longer to soften the potatoes, but it was delicious and I will definitely be making this again. All of the spices combined with the sweetness of the raisins created a wonderful flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Oct 2013
Reviewed by: Elizabeth Blair Henry
I added more of what I had (spinach instead of kale) but kept the initial recipe intact and loved it. With the leftovers the next day,I added carrots,more spices and canned lite coconut milk! WOW! Great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: Anthony Cashaw
Amazing veggie food. It takes an extra bowl, but it still fills you up because of the potatoes and chickpeas. Very flavorful, and great as is, but I'd imagine it's a great side to a meal or if you tossed some meat in it'd be just as good or better.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: Fruitchip
Yum! I'm attempting to eat healthier and incorporate less meat into my family’s diets. Recipes like this make it easier for sure. I forgot the cayenne and didn't have cilantro and it was still great - the flavors were complex and delicious and even the hubs thought it was a satisfying meal. Will make again for sure!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Oct 2014
Reviewed by: Joseph Smith
This was great-- I used a quart of home-canned crushed tomatoes and some homemade "rotel"(with plenty of roasted pablanos) instead of the tomato sauce and diced tomatoes, used vegetable broth instead of water, and sweet potatoes instead of potatoes. I also omitted the raisins.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Feb 2015
Reviewed by: just_jam
i was looking for a soup recipe that was nontraditional as i had been sick for a few days and was getting tired of the same old chicken noodle/veggie soups.. i was intrigued by the spices and mostly made this for the broth.. my modifications were to use one potato, two carrots, two stalks celery, half a large red and green bell pepper, add some fresh slices of ginger, omit the tomato sauce and raisins, and instead of adding water i used chicken broth, i subbed three bone in skinless chicken thighs for the chickpeas and spinach for the kale--which i had forgotten to add until i was down to the last two bowls of soup, along with the cilantro.. doh!.. even with all the changes i had to make for what was left in the house, this came out tasting very good and gave me something fortifying to eat while trying to recover from this nasty cold.. ty for the recipe
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes