My Reviews (100)

Turkey Burgers with Spicy Aoili

These turkey burgers are made with jalapeno chilli, barbecue sauce, steak sauce, liquid smoke then fried up and topped with caramelised onions and spicy aoili.
Reviews (100)


18 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Occasional Cooker
Hi everyone. This is my recipe. I wanted to let you know that there will be extra mayo left over that can be used on other sandwiches or other items. About a 1/3 of it would be needed for the burgers. I use Hellman’s low fat mayo that has a great flavor and only 15 calories per serving to cut down on the fat and calories. Also, I used a Dijon course grain mustard and 99% extra lean ground turkey, with Stubbs Original BBQ sauce (because it contains less sugar) but you could also use a mesquite flavored BBQ sauce if you don’t have the dry seasoning or try one of the great substitutions other reviewers used. In addition, I used a Vidalia onion and Montreal Steak Seasoning with McCormick’s Mesquite Grill Seasoning. This is not a packet but in a jar like other spices. AR had changed that ingredient to a packet. If you have never tried a turkey burger, this is the one to try! If you can’t bring yourself to try turkey, make it with ground beef. I made this the other night and switched it up with 93% lean ground beef which is as lean as regular ground turkey and used KC Masterpiece BBQ sauce. It was delicious also. I hope your family enjoys these burgers as much as mine.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Jillian
Wow these turkey burgers really are Kickin'! I love turkey burgers and this recipe was no exception. The carmelized onions and spicy sweet mayo really took this turkey burger over the top! I used vidalia onion and KC Masterpiece BBQ sauce. I also used Montreal Steak Seasoning and like others who didn't have dry mesquite seasoning on hand I mixed up my own with a bit of smoked paprika (love the stuff) chili powder and cumin. I did cut the back on the amount of spicy sweet mayo - I made half the recipe and even though it's more than enough to cover the burgers it's a great dipping sauce for sweet potato fries or just about anything else you can think of! We grilled these burgers vs. pan frying and served them on toasted rolls with fresh crisp lettuce along with the carmelized onions and spicy sweet mayo! Thanks Occasional Cooker for a great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Marianne
My hubby loved this, so it's a 5-star recipe in this corner! Now let me tell you all the things I did--both wrong and different. Wrong? When I grated the onion, I grated it right over the turkey. That's wrong. I knew it as soon as I saw the juice gathering at the bottom of the bowl. Melinda Lee, our talkshow host, told us all not to do that! But did I listen? Grate the onion into a separate bowl so the juice can settle and be siphoned off. That's why my next mistake. I still wanted to grill these patties. And they fell through the grate. So I finished them in a pan. Different? We wanted no bread, so we just had the onions and the wonderful sauce (to which I will add the other half of the cayenne for the leftovers--I was being cautious). I served this with sliced deliciously ripe tomatoes and some Cajun Grilled Corn (from this site) so that we could drizzle some of that great sauce over all. It was a wonderful dinner. Thank you for our meal tonight!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: abapplez
Prepared for participation in the Recipe Group this week. Wow! We were pleasantly surprised with this one! This is our first ever Turkey Burger and we were hesitant and really didn't think we would care for the texture. Boy were we wrong! This is absolutely delicious. Excellent flavor, great texture and juicy. We grilled these burgers instead of pan frying and I am so happy that we did. The grill flavor mixed with the steak seasoning, BBQ Sauce, Caramelized Onions and Sweet Mayo is perfection. Jalapeno peppers just don't go over well with my family so I left that out. I also did not have the mesquite flavoring so I followed Saveur631 and used a pinch of chipotle and paprika. I used Montreal Steak Seasoning and Sweet Baby Rays BBQ Sauce. All of this adds such great bold flavor. I mixed everything up about 2 hours before dinner, shaped the burgers and put them in the fridge. The Spicy Sweet Mayo is awesome! I made half the recipe for the mayo (used only 1/4 tsp cayenne) and still have a little left over. I refuse to throw it away - I will definately find something...ANYthing to put this on. It is sooo good and perfect with the burger and carmelized onions. I used 1 & 1/2 very large vidalia onions to carmelize and it was the perfect amount for us. Using only 1/2 onion would not have done it. Hubby and kids can't stop talking about this one so I know it will be a frequent repeat here this summer. Thanks for sharing, Occasional Cooker!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Heidi G.
I used the recipe for the burgers and made stuffed red peppers instead. I cut the tops off red peppers, hallowed out the insides and stuffed with them with the burger mixture. I baked the stuffed peppers at 350 degrees for about 45 minutes. Extra moisture that accumulates in the peppers can be used to baste the meat, or can by poured out of the peppers at the end. Makes 4 large, fully packed red peppers I couldn't find dry mesquite flavored seasoning mix so I skipped it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: ONEHIPMOMMY
I admit I didn't use turkey, I used a combo of beef and buffalo from Whole Foods. They were amazing!!!!!!!! So amazing, that we have eaten them 3 times in the last week. The spicy sweet mayo is so amazing. We made both sweet potato fries and oven fries with the burgers and both were great with the sauce. We love this recipe- thanks so much!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Valerie Brunmeier
These were great! I especially liked the spiced mayo although you can scale by half since it makes far more than you'll need. We are wimps so I cut the cayenne pepper down to 1/2 tsp. and it was just right. Hot but not crazy hot. I also omitted the jalepeno pepper from the burger but used a spicy steak seasoning. We had ours with muenster cheese. I think they'd be great with mixed greens, avocado or any other toppings you like. We also used the sauce as a dipping sauce for Grilled Chipotle Sweet Potatoes from this site.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Saveur
I made this for the recipe group June, 2011. Overall, very good burgers. I would give this a 4* on the burgs, and definitely a 5* on the sauce. Let's start with the burgers. I made exactly as written, used Montreal for the steak seasoning, Baby Rays Vidallia onion BBQ for the sauce. No mesquite seasoning, so I used a couple of shakes of chipotle and smoked paprika. Formed four nice (small when grilled) burgers, five would be tiny. I placed them in the fridge for a couple of hours prior to grilling to help them set up. On the carmelized onions, I used the other onion half for TWO burgers, if making 4 burgers needs at least an entire onion, more if you like lots o' onion. The sauce makes it, it's to die for. I halved the recipe, and it would be plenty for 4 burgers. Just eyeballed the ingredients, except the cayene, just an 1/8 teaspoon. Very very good sauce. Overall tasty, thanks for sharing this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Sep 2013
Reviewed by: Cheryl's Cooking Now!
This recipe is very good! My hubby and son never knew they were eating ground turkey!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: jennrich
These turkey burgers were awesome!! The best I have ever had. Just the right amount of spiciness. I followed the recipe for the burgers very closely, but happened to be out of liquid smoke, so I left that out. Next time I will add it. The Spicy Sweet Mayo is so yummy, but way too much. I halved the recipe and it was still way more than you will need for 5 burgers. No problem though--it will be great on sandwiches, etc. Thanks for a great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes