My Reviews (45)

Apricot Pork Chops

These juicy pork chops are browned in olive oil then simmered in a sauce of honey, fresh apricots and garlic until tender then sprinkled with fresh chopped parsley.
Reviews (45)


11 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: Mrs.C.
I'm not a pork chop fan but these were really good. I seasoned the chops with a heavy dose of chili powder since we like a kick in our food. I also did not have fresh apricots or canned, so I used apricot preserves instead. I will definitely make this again..very easy and quick!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: Baker Ray
Outstanding - followed the directions + I added sweet onions. Next time I would add more honey. I used canned Apricots and dried them with a paper towel before stering them in. What a treat
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 May 2011
Reviewed by: Tiera Conyers Everitt
This is a simple and delicious recipe! I added a lot more honey and used a whole can of apricots. Be generous with the salt on the chops. I served this with rice to absorb some of the sauce and it was a hit!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: Juggler 51
We really liked this. We had steamed asparagus with a warm lemon vinaigrette as she suggested and it was a beautiful counter-point. Brilliant. Yes, once the chops were done I took them out and mashed up the peaches so that they were more of a sauce. (store did not have ripe apricots but our Colorado peaches were nice and ready)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Carolyn Foster Brady
Absolutelly DELISH!!! We didn't have fresh parsley or fresh garlic, so we subsituted. Unfortunately we didn't have honey either. The apricots weren't ripe so we also used a can of lite apricots. This was fabulous and I can't wait to try it exactly as the recipe is written. I wouldn't trade for a steak dinner. BTW, the apricots don't have to be ripe. We sliced them thinly and they tasted better than the canned. Next time I may thicken the sauce a bit with cornstarch. Or not. I'm so satisfied!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Helene
I made this tonight with just 2 boneless pork chops. Hubby and I loved the flavor. Made some changes, because I didn't have fresh apricots. Used a handful of dried apricots cut into pieces and a tbls of sugar free apricot preserves and 1 tbls of agave (hubby is diabetic). Should have used less olive oil, but the flavors were great. This will also go great with chicken (bnls thighs or breasts). Served with tomato, corn, onion salad from this site; great compliment. Terrific dinner. Hubby had offered to go out, but said that this could be served in a great restaurant. I'm smiling.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: Kquigs
I substituted apricot preserves instead of fresh apricots and used bone in pork chops instead of boneless and they were very good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: T-girl
I substituted 1/2 a sweet red onion, sliced, for the garlic, sauteeing it for a few minutes in the olive oil before browning the meat. I also substituted 4 (peeled, sliced) peaches for the apricots, as there were no fresh apricots available. When the meat was done, I removed and covered it and reduced the sauce a bit before serving. The resulting dish was delicious, and went well with green beans and brown rice. I look forward to next summer's apricots so I can try the original. Note: no extra honey was needed.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: MustangSpaceQueen
This was very disappointing. The pork tasted fine, but the apricots stayed tart and the pan juices were thin. The apricots added nothing to the flavor of the pork. Next time, I will use a recipe that uses apricot preserves instead of fresh apricots.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Sep 2013
Reviewed by: aschill
The flavors were great, but following the directions as written produced pork that was too well done for my taste. After reading some reviews, I also substituted preserves instead of fresh fruit. The second time I made this, I seared the meat for about 4 minutes per side. After searing the second side, I removed the pork from the pan and poured in the sauce, simmering until it thickened up a bit. Then I returned the meat to the pan and simmered for only 5 or so minutes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes