My Reviews (134)

Cranberry Almond Muesli Bars

A mixture of oats, pumpkin seeds, almonds, nuts and cranberries baked together with condensed milk make a handy snack for school lunch, tramping or mums on the go.
Reviews (134)


03 Sep 2015
Reviewed by: KathrynAnnMcAuliffe
Keeping the quantities the same I substituted trail mix for the sultanas and crunchy nut cornflakes for the rice bubbles
 
26 May 2011
Reviewed by: patientgrl
I am never buying granola bars from the store again. I used only the quick cooking oats, added sunflower seeds and omitted the mixed nuts. I also added a pinch of cinnamon, allspice and nutmeg. Baked these suckers for 10 minutes. And now I'm stuffing my face with one. Delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: daphne.hardy
my husband does not like nuts so i just omitted them altogether. substituted 1 cup raisins and 1/2 cup craisins (dried cranberries) and used 3 cups old-fashioned oats. i added about 1/2 brown sugar 1/2 tsp cinnamon mixed it up really good before adding the sweetened condensed milk. after pressing into the pan i drizzled some honey on the top along with a cinnamon sugar blend. ooohhhhhh it was so good. my husband and my 5 year old beg me to make this. making it at least twice a week.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: The-Baby-Bow-Lady
AWESOME recipe! I make these for snacks for my kids (and hubby) to take to school. My daughter has a peanut allergy, and many store bought granola bars have peanut flour. So, I tried these, and we fell in love with the taste and simplicity! I make a double batch, individually cut and bag them, and stick them in the freezer. I do not use the parchment paper as a liner, but do use it to push them down firmly into the pan. I also have used a super-easy, no cook recipe on here for Sweetened Condensed milk, which works fabulously if you don't have it on hand. I only had old-fashioned oats, and did not miss the quick-cooking oats. I have tried all sorts of variations, such as chocolate chip and cinnamon raisin. Thanks for a fabulous recipe, that has become a staple in our house!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: misserin13
Terrific granola bar! To make it non-dairy, I used one can of coconut milk and 3 tbsp honey. I also used flax seed, millet and sunflower seeds in place of the mixed nuts. Good for the whole family!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Judy
Very easy - I used dried cherries (should have cut them up but didn't) and turned out great. I also used pecans in place of almonds. I'll be making this one again and again and again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Sarah
The condensed milk is a great way to keep the granola together. They turned out perfectly the first time. These are so easy to make, and fun to create bars to our own personal taste. I use dried apricots and sliced almonds for one batch and peanut butter chips for another. I took these to a group function and was given many compliments. My husband has requested we have them with breakfast every day. I omitted the condensed milk for one batch and tried using peanut butter and honey. I think it cooked too long because they were really crunchy. I wound up making granola with that batch...which is perfect in the yogurt I'm eating now!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Jen W
This is one of the best granola bar recipes I have tried, and I have tried a lot. It doesn't fall apart when you cut it like so many do. Our school division is nut-free, so I subbed out all the nuts and seeds for a combination of coconut, Rice Krispies, chocolate chips and ground flax seed. I look forward to trying new combinations and adding nuts in over the summer holidays.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Lynn
Love this recipe! It is so flexible. I have been making every week, and change up the nuts and dried fruit. One week I added coconut and macadamia nuts, another some cashews. It's a perfect, healthy snack!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: ROBJP1111
This recipe is exactly what I was looking for - a simple way to cook ahead of time my usual morning oatmeal + dried fruit + nuts, without having to add a bunch of other ingredients. For me the parchment made a huge difference, without that the bars fell apart when I removed them from the pan. Also I like to mix up the dry ingredients before putting in the condensed milk, I find it easier to get an even distribution that way.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes