My Reviews (69)

Cajun Butternut Pumpkin Chips

This alternative to deep fried potato chips or roast pumpkin is a great way to eat pumpkin. Just add salt, pepper and Cajun seasoning and bake until done.
Reviews (69)


25 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: Occasional Cooker
Hi. I am the recipe submitter. If you like butternut squash these fries are excellent and are ZERO Weight Watcher PPTS! Butternut squash has more moisture than potatoes. So here are a few tips for handling that. First, it is important to blot out as much moisture as possible before cooking. Also, if you are looking for crispier fries, try cutting them thinner. As another reviewer mentioned, spray not only the baking sheet but the fries with cooking spray. If the fries are large enough, you can place them on a baking rack on top of the baking pan so the air can circulate beneath them and that will also help crisp the fries. Lastly, if they are not crisp enough you can bake them a little longer. With regard to the seasoning I use a homemade cajun seasoning without salt. Then I can control how much salt is added. Different brands of cajun seasoning have different amounts of salt and therefore you may prefer to either adjust the amount of salt or leave it out altogether. I hope these tips are helpful; and I hope you enjoy the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: Jamie
Great new way to serve butternut! I did lightly spray the "fries" with cooking spray to make the seasoning adhere.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: dmphax
I mostly followed the cooking instructions, and cut thinner slices as I wanted a 'crispier' fry. I used PAM on a cookie sheet and laid the thin 'strips' out in rows. Sprinkled a no salt seasoning mix over the squash, and a light amount of sea salt. Baked for about 20 minutes as they were thinner pieces. Flipped once about halfway through. Have cooked these a couple times now and this is a keeper. They are delectable!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: sueb
Spicy from the Cajun seasoning and sweet from the squash---great combination! These are much easier to make than the normal kind of shake and bake roasted vegetables! Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: Molly
DELICIOUS!! A great word to sum up this recipe. I made this as written (making my cajun seasoning from this site "Cajun Spice Mix") and baked for about 25 minutes. The house smelled wonderful when these were baking. I really enjoyed the taste of the s/p & cajun with the sweetness of the squash. It reminds me of sweet potato fries. This is the first time I've fixed a butternut squash and it most definitely will not be the last. Thanks OC for sharing this delicious recipe - I've already sent it to my mom and SIL.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: MayberryGal
These were fabulous! So easy (once you cut up that squash!) and so tasty. My entire family ate gobbled them up - and I have a husband and daughter that swear they don't like squash! Thanks for the great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: Joshua Wynings
Made them once and enjoyed a lot! Will definitely try again. A few tips though: 1) 1 lb of squash may sound like a lot...but after peeling it, seeding it, and cooking it...you're left with maybe 5 ounces left. Luckily it's just me and I ate them all. Definitely need more next time though 2) It says 15-20 minutes but I'm thinking more 20-25. 3) Listen to the others when they say to cut them thin. Shoestring thin. 4) A nice quick spray of oil lets the seasoning stick (I used Old Bay Seasoning and it was fantastic). 5) Definitely let them air out to get some moisture out (I sandwiched mine between paper towels and cookie sheets, then weighed them down). All in all...great. I'm gonna try them again this weekend. Chalk this up as a fantastic item for those of us trying to lose weight.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: Kati Payne
Simple, easy, and delicious! Called them Superman Fries and my two 4-year-olds ate 'em up!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Mar 2014
Reviewed by: bomackin
stunned how much I like these - and how different they are than any other squash recipe we've tried - we cut our squash more in cubes, which worked well too....... (actually, I usually clean, peel, and chop up several butternut squashes at once and freeze them - and that's what I used - and I'd simply cubed those..., so while I was a little dubious, I was pleased, oh yes, so very pleased with the results), can't say they got crispy, but I didn't miss the crisp....... the yum and spice was plenty good enough as is.....
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: marybethptc
These "fries" came out very mushy and not at all crunchy. My oven temp may be to blame. The addition of the cajun spice was very tasty and I will use this combo in the future but won't make "fries".
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes