My Reviews (353)

Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

This delicious mixture of bread, sultanas, cinnamon, milk and brown sugar is baked together in the oven until set then topped with a scrumptious vanilla sauce.
Reviews (353)


19 Nov 2017
Reviewed by: AlaBendikov
Very versatile recipe. Added choc chips to it, omitted the brown sugar as I didn't have any. Replaced the sauce with a custard. Everyone loved it! Made it for a church lunch and the compliments and reminiscing from the older folks was gold
 
16 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: Gail Cobile
Hi all, it's me, SouthernGma. Wanted to let you know that if you have leftover hamburger, hotdog buns or rolls for sub sandwiches, you can split them and toast on a tray in the oven and use up that extra bread in making this bread pudding. Works just as well and a good way to use up bread before you have to feed it to the birds or toss it. 1/2 of a burger, hotdog or sub roll will equasl one slice of farmhouse-style bread.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: lisa
This is sooooo good! I just used reg white bread & altho I added 4 extra slices, I don't think it was enough because the pudding was a little too mushy for my taste. My fault tho, not the recipe's. If I use reg bread again, I think I would use at least 6 extras, possibly even more. The vanilla sauce is totally different than other vanilla sauce I've had/made before. It's thicker, like a thinned out pudding, so it kind of spreads over the bread pudding, instead of soaking down into the bread. It threw me at first but I really liked it! 1 more note, I put mine into a 3 qt dish because that's what I had availble. It baked perfectly in that size, puffing up over the top, but not spilling over & I didn't have to cover it at all, it was perfectly golden. Of course, it deflated while cooling(normal). I'm not sure mine would've fit into a 2 qt dish, as called for in the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: Holiday Baker
This was tasty. Although, it is really sweet! I didn't have farm house bread, but the recipe said to use a "hearty" style bread, so I used bread from a homemade loaf I made the other day. I only had a small 1.5 oz box of raisins, and just used that. I don't care for raisins that much anyway. After 1 hour of baking I noticed the bread had risen to the top and the sauce was on the bottom. I stirred it lightly and then put it back in the oven for 10 minutes, and it thickened up fine. The bread pudding was very sweet, like I had said, so I do wish I would have cut back the sugar some. The sauce did have a nice brown sugar and vanilla taste. However, it is also really sweet and does thicken up almost immedietely after it cools just slightly. It might have to be thinned out a little, with some milk or cream, especially if using it the next day.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: abapplez
This is the best Bread Pudding I have ever made! Everyone raved. I used a 1 lb loaf of Italian Bread and increased the servings to 12 (backed the white sugar down to 1 3/4 cups) and left the vanilla sauce at 8 servings. Absolutely perfect in every way. Thank you, SouthernGma for sharing this recipe. It will be used often and passed on to the family.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: Poomie
This is excellent! Even my super picky husband loved it. Used toasted, cubed french bread and substituted finely chopped green apples for raisins (didn't have any) I added more cinnamon than called for to the bread pudding and the sauce (we love our cinnamon). This was just excellent. Thank you, SouthernGma!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: seattlegma
My pudding separated and curdled and is soggy. Can someone tell me what went wrong? Some say 375 is way too hot. I did quadruple the recipe to serve at church and allowed extra time testing for doneness along the way. Both pans turned out the same. Never had this happen before using another recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: Cheryl Laford
Excellent! The only thing I did different was I heated the milk because I wanted to make sure the sugar was fully dissolved. The family loved the bread pudding with the vanilla sauce on top. Thank you for a nice recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: Jeanne-Marie
Excellent! I cut all of the sugars in half and it's still plenty sweet. Also cut butter back slightly. I used a large loaf of Italian bread cut into 1 1/2" cubes, well toasted in the preheating oven for about 10 minutes. I think that's the secret to it not being overly soggy. Used 2 1/2 C skim milk plus 1/2 C half & half in the pudding part, and in the sauce 1 C skim milk and 1/4 C half & half. Plenty rich. Will make this often!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: sails.away
Extremely good. The Wife requested I add additional fruits. I complied by making a special one with a dried fruit blend substituted for the raisins and increased it to 1 1/2 cup as well. Excellent. The Sauce is very very good. Recommend using quality vanilla in the sauce as it is noticeable if you use the cheap stuff.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes