My Reviews (76)

Guinness Pie

This pie has beef, bacon, beer, brown mushrooms and bay leaves to give it a rich flavour. It's then topped with puff pastry and baked until golden brown.
Reviews (76)


11 Jul 2015
Reviewed by: judelou
Absolutely delicious thank you. My husband is a fussy eater and he loved it. Had mashed potatoe with it. Wonderful!!!
 
27 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: ccmnej
Fantastic flavor! Took all day to make, but worth every minute. I used a double pie crust instead.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: kdbenson13
I used the filling and cooked it to its full length. Don't cut down on the time simmered and baked, because as the water evaporates the flavor only becomes more robust. Modifications I made: - Mash Potatoes in place of crust. More like a Shepherd's Pie. It's also cheaper. About 3lbs of yellow potatoes, boiled then mashed. 4 Tbshp of unsalted butter, 1/2 cup of heavy whipping cream. Salt and Pepper to taste. (I don't use a blender for potatoes because it changes the dynamic of the mash) Chunks are good. -Doubled the recipe because I had a feeling this would be a hit and for all the time you put in it, you might as well have plenty of leftovers. - 2lbs of chuckeye with all the fat removed which probably made it about 1 1/2lbs of meat. - Used one white onion, then 2 shallots. - added about a 1lb of fresh cut up green beans. - Baby Portabella Mushrooms in place of crimini and I added a little more than what it called for. - Didn't add the sugar - subbed bay leaf for sage. - I also think you could add caraway seed or fennel seed, but didn't want to mess more than I did.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Ldyparadox99
Since I didn't feel like making pie crust, I made this as a stew instead (added potatoes). Wonderful! It was gobbled up by my guests before I could get another bowl.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Amanda Cunningham
I loved the taste of this dish. I skipped the long stove-top cooking and instead put the mixture in the crock pot after thickening the first time. I cooked it on high for about an hour then turned it to low for another hour and a half. I then put the mixture in the fridge util I wanted to make the pie.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: SuzieQ
Very good and flavourful, however, I don't think you need the last half hour of cooking. The vegetables (I added peas) in my filling turned mushy. Also I used half the puff pastry as a base crust, and that shrank when I baked it on its own. BUT I will definitely try it again, the ale gave it a fantastic flavour and normally I hate beer. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Melanie Booth
Important Note: The recipe should state "dried thyme", NOT ground thyme (a completely different ingredient), which is why i think some people have found the thyme flavour overpowering- i think Allrecipes got confused, perhaps our British and American wires got crossed! As other people have mentioned, as well as making this as a pie i often just eat it as a stew or casserole- it works brilliantly both ways! It does take a while to cook i guess, but the rich flavour you get at the end of it is so worth it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: chikalin
delicious, but the guinness flavor really develops as it sits - so the flavor is a lot stronger if you eat it as leftovers the next day. i made it with ruth's grandma's pie crust from this site.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: earwigsmom
None of us really cared for this one. I guess I'm not a guinness fan. Sorry.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: bellarosa
I made this for St. Patty's Day. My husband and I thought it was excellent. It certainly takes awhile to cook, but the filling is delicious. I used Guinness Extra Stout and was afraid it might make it a bit bitter, but the result was fantastic. Extras are already packed up for lunch tomorrow!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes