My Reviews (119)

Basil Lime Chops

These pork chops are tossed in lime juice, garlic and basil then barbecued to seal in the juices while keeping the centre tender. Sure to be a crowd pleaser.
Reviews (119)


06 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Michele
FANTASTIC! I just made this for dinner tonight, and wow was it tasty! I like a little extra lime flavor, so I juiced 2 limes instead of one. I mixed the lime juice, garlic, basil, salt, and pepper together all at once, then put them in a ziplock type freezer bag. I trimmed the pork, then added it to the marinade. I let it marinade for about 5-6 hours. What a tasty dinner! Thank you for posting it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: TikiLon
My daughter and I made these the other night. We added 1/4 C of oil and let them marinate for two days. They were delicious!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Spinmom
I can't wait to try this since we grill pork chops a lot. The one thing I can add is that I never grill chops over direct heat. It can make them tough. I always turn on the gas grill and heat it up but when I put the chops on the grill I turn off the burners on the side where I place the meat. Just keep the lid closed and the internal temp will cook the chops without making the meat dry or tough. It will take a bit longer but it's well worth the wait.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: amderrick
Made this recipe for dinner last night and it was really good. I didn't have a lime so I used a lemon and it was still the acidity that was needed. I grilled on gas BBQ and my husband loved it. He doesn't usually like basil but I went for it and he really liked it. Yeah! A new staple for my household. Thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Holly Garrett
Wow! This was great. Had a lemon, so I used that instead of the lime. Marinated three hours in a ziplock bag. I turned the bag every half an hour or so. My family just kept moaning while they ate! Maybe next time I will use a lime. Maybe I'll try this marinade with chicken breasts.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Marsha in Jackson Hole
I had my doubts as I was putting it together but it was DELICIOUS. Thank you for a 5-star keeper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Carol
I marinated overnight and really enjoyed this, although it's difficult to keep the pork from getting a little tough. I wasn't sure about basil with pork, but was pleasantly surprised.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Rock_lobster
Basil Garlic Pork Chop Haiku: "Not my favorite. I'd have preferred cilantro, over the basil." I followed the recipe exactly, (marinated for about 4 hrs.) and wasn't blown away by the grilled results. I noticed that several of the reviewers said that they replaced the lime juice w/ lemon, which, maybe it something that I would've liked better. (Either that, or swapping basil for cilantro.) But as the recipe's written, I just didn't feel that the lime jived w/ the basil for my tastebuds.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: LMR
We don't eat pork, but we love this marinade for chicken breasts! So tasty!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: roxmarie
These are great! I used Lemon juice instead of the lime cause it is what I had on hand. I put them in a ziplock bag and let them marinate for appx an hour. They came out juicy, moist and delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes