My Reviews (39)

Rye Sourdough Bread

This is an authentic sourdough recipe for those who want to be rewarded for their efforts. Makes two loaves.
Reviews (39)


14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: MACKALLEN
Since I've been given a sourdough starter, I've been making sourdoughs like crazy so the starter doesn't take over my fridge. This is the best of the wholemeal ones I've tried. It rose nicely, but that probably has something to do with me kneading the heck out of it and also me being patient with the dough. I read some advice about sourdough rye, and it said to let it rise for 2-3 hours on each rise. I didn't let this loaf go that long, but pretty close. Anyway, I recommend this one to those who like rye bread.
 
30 Jun 2016
Reviewed by: gecky
Can anyone tell me why you have to throw away 1/2 the starter every day when feeding it. It seems so wasteful. Thank you. Fabulous recipe
 
Comment:
14 Jul 2008
BLGPTS said:
Something else. really good! I have a 33 year old starter, so I have been using sourdough for quite a number of years. I did an egg wash,( one whole egg with a tsp. of water, mixed) and brushed it on the bread before baking, then added a sprinkling of caraway seed. It was really good. I made one big loaf instead of two.
 
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: ISCAR1US
I've been making this bread for over a year. It's gorgeous! Dense, rich, heavy, and SOUR :-) when done correctly. It's gooey and sticky to knead when first mixed together but well worth all the trouble. Give this a try! You won't be disappointed!
 
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: ZEPHYRAZURE
This was my first sourdough rye bread, so it was a real treat. It's marvelous toasted & buttered & topped w/ cheese!
 
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: MOGAN813
This was excellent bread. My nephew who refuses to eat shop bought rye even loved it. The sourness of the bread will depend on your starter, mine is very sour. Thank you Jack.
 
26 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: MACKALLEN
Since I've been given a sourdough starter, I've been making sourdoughs like crazy so the starter doesn't take over my fridge. This is the best of the whole wheat ones I've tried. It rose nicely, but that probably has something to do with me kneading the heck out of it and also me being patient with the dough. I read James Beard's advice about sourdough rye, and he says to let it rise for 2-3 hours on each rise. I didn't let this loaf go that long, but pretty close. Anyway, I recommend this one to folks who like rye bread.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Sep 2001
Reviewed by: ISCAR1US
I've been making this bread for over a year. It's AWSOME! Dense, rich, heavy, and SOUR :-) when done correctly. It's gooey and sticky to knead when first mixed together but well worth all the trouble. I use a GoldRush brand sourdough starter for this which has been working for over two years. Give this a try! You won't be disappointed!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: vibrantwanderer
I'm frustrated with the way this recipe is written. It may work wonderfully for an experienced sourdough baker, but to someone new to the process it's not helpful at all. I tried this as the first bread with my new rye starter and, after a complete failure (well, not complete - I turned it into some lovely sourdough rye crackers) I dove in and did more research on sourdough baking. I realize now that what the recipe author intends is for the baker to make a sourdough "sponge" the night before baking. It's too bad the recipe never mentions that word, or I'd have looked into what a sponge was sooner. As directed, I fed my starter the night before but I fed my *whole* starter, not simply taking out a cup then and making a sponge. The steps for doing this are completely unclear for anyone who is unfamiliar with the ins and outs of sourdough breads and really ought to be clarified. NOW, I have a sponge sitting on my counter and will try again the proper way tomorrow. Lesson learned.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Becca
Question-Are you supposed to add the first ingredients to 1 cup of starter or are you supposed to add the ingredients to your starter and then use 1 cup of it? I did the latter, and the bread turned out okay, but it only made one small loaf.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes