My Reviews (3,447)

Slow Roasted Pepper Chicken

Perfect for a Christmas lunch or just a rainy day weekend, these chickens are marinated in paprika, thyme and three kinds of pepper then slow roasted.
Reviews (3447)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
WALKMAN101 said:
Used different ingredients. Made this last night for 2nd time with some minor changes, and it was SO good - hubby said it was possibly the best chicken I ever made and as good, if not even better than the store rotisserie chickens (which, in our opinion, are extremely yummy). The only things I did differently were I used a large 3 kilo+ chook instead of the 2 smaller ones. For the spices, I eliminated white pepper (who has that?) and cut the cayenne and paprika in half, and increased the garlic powder to a full teaspoon. Even doing that there is still plenty of kick in the spice mix. Like another reviewer I added a couple Tbsps. of minced garlic to the onions in the cavity. The biggest change? Last time I just seasoned and stuck in oven. This time, I wrapped in double plastic wrap (with the onions/garlic in place in the cavity) & ended up marinating for over 24 hours in the fridge - purely by accident, but it made all the difference!! Slow-roasting at 120C (I did go up to 140 for about 45 min. in middle of cooking to ensure it would be done in time for dinner) cooked the bird perfectly in exactly 4 hours - will be perfectly cooked but not dried out. Made gravy with the drippings, but the white meat was so moist it didn't even need it. I will never make a roast chicken any other way!! P.S. when the chicken is done, drizzle some pan drippings over it, the chicken will suddenly glisten and look picture perfect for the table.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
MOLSON7 said:
Made it more kid friendly. My kids simply LOVE this chicken recipe (7 year old & teenagers)! Chicken always comes out so tender & flavourful. They especially love the gravy this makes: I add a can of chicken stock mixed with a tablespoon cornflour to the pan juices, and let boil till thicken. And here's another tip for those days where I can't find 5 hours to spare to roast a chicken: I take 5 or 6 chicken breasts with bone, I skip the onions & skip the overnight marinating step. Instead, toss seasonings & chicken in a large oven roasting bag, shake till chicken are all evenly coated. Bake in 350 oven for 1-1/2 hours. MOST REQUESTED CHICKEN in my household! I highly recommend this recipe!!
 
06 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: QueenBelicious
Made this for lunch today. Changed round the herbs to what I had (paprika and salad herbs) but OMG it was good. Only complaint was the skin tasted not so good (shouldn't be eating it anyway should i!?). I'm currently using the carcass to make stock.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
NJSS2000 said:
Altered ingredient amounts. This is a GREAT chicken recipe. I'm sure most of it has to do with the baking technique, but the spice combination is great too. This chicken was falling off of the bones! I baked a 2kg chicken for approximately 4.5 hours, and that was probably a bit too long. I followed the recipe, halving it as I was only baking one chicken. I did make some changes as follows: *Only used 1 tsp salt *Kept the onion powder and garlic powder amounts the same, didn't halve them. *I didn't have an onion to put in the cavity, but did have a bunch of green onions. I cut them in 3rds and stuffed them inside the chicken along with some minced garlic. *I brushed the chicken with melted butter prior to rubbing the spice mixture on (had some spice mixture left over). * I took four pats of butter (about 2T total) and shook them into the remaining spice mixture, completely covering them. I then put 2 pats under the skin of the chicken on top of the breast on each side. * I cut up potatoes and carrots and placed them in the bottom of the pan, placing the chicken on top when baking it. This turned out great. The skin was crisp, the meat was juicy and tender. The juices made an EXCELLENT gravy. Definitely a keeper!
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
AMERICANDAD said:
Altered ingredient amounts. I love this recipe and make it often. My only suggestion is to get a jar and mix up a lot of the seasonings at one time to keep in your cabinet. I changed the servings to 64 and the ingredents came up in cup and tablespoon amounts for easy mixing. Then when I make a chicken I have the "mix" at my fingertips. It takes 3 to 4 tablespoons of mix per chicken. I normally serve this with lots of veggies so I have leftover chicken. The next day I make enchiladas with the leftovers. Then I boil the bones for soup. This gives 3 meals my family of 5 loves. Even my picky son eats these 3 meals. I normally make this in the crockpot for easy cooking, but the roasting it in the oven yeilds better results.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
QUASINAUGHT said:
Altered ingredient amounts. This was honestly the best whole chicken I have ever eaten. The seasoning went all the way through the meat. I doubled the seasoning recipe and then only used one chicken as I love lots of flavour. I lifted the skin and rubbed the seasoning directly onto the meat as well as on top of the skin. This was a great recipe!
 
21 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: ChickenCat
 
01 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Lisoul
I cooked two chooks and gave one to my sister for her family one night. The fall-of-the-bone meat was so tender. Everyone, children included, enjoyed this.
 
10 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: MomSavedbyGrace
Made this last night for 2nd time with some minor changes, and it was SO good - hubby said it was possibly the best chicken I ever made and as good, if not even better than the store rotisserie chickens (which, in our opinion, are extremely yummy). The only things I did differently were I used a large 7+ lb. roaster instead of the 2 smaller ones. For the spices, I eliminated white pepper (who has that?) and cut the cayenne and paprika in half, and increased the garlic powder to a full teaspoon. Even doing that there is still plenty of kick in the spice mix. Like another reviewer I added a couple Tbsps. of minced garlic to the onions in the cavity. The biggest change? Last time I just seasoned and stuck in oven. This time, I wrapped in double plastic wrap (with the onions/garlic in place in the cavity) & ended up marinating for over 24 hours in the fridge - purely by accident, but it made all the difference!! Slow-roasting at 250 (I did go up to 275 for about 45 min. in middle of cooking to ensure it would be done in time for dinner) cooked the bird perfectly in exactly 4 hours (Use a meat therm. - take out at 170, and let it rest before carving, it will be perfectly cooked but not dried out). Made gravy with the drippings, but the white meat was so moist it didn't even need it. I will never make a roast chicken any other way!! P.S. when the chicken is done, drizzle some pan drippings over it, the chicken will suddenly glisten and look picture perfect for the table.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 May 2004
Reviewed by: BLACKMP
I love this recipe and make it often. My only suggestion is to get a jar and mix up a lot of the seasonings at one time to keep in your cabinet. I changed the servings to 64 and the ingredents came up in cup and tablespoon amounts for easy mixing. Then when I make a chicken I have the "mix" at my fingertips. It takes 3 to 4 tablespoons of mix per chicken. I normally serve this "rubber chicken" style with lots of veggies so I have leftover chicken. The next day I make enchiladas with the leftovers. Then I boil the bones for tortilla soup. This gives 3 meals my family of 5 loves. Even my picky son eats these 3 meals. I normally make this in the crockpot for easy cooking, but the roasting it in the oven yeilds better results.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes