My Reviews (26)

Beef and Barley Soup in the Slow Cooker

Hearty barley soup with a stock made from beef bones, vegetables and plenty of garlic. Takes about 8 hours in a slow cooker.
Reviews (26)


Comment:
15 Jul 2010
Debster29 said:
Altered ingredient amounts. Halved the salt content and added turnips, swede and parsnips. Very easy recipe.
 
09 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: Linda
This was absolutely delicious! A great winter soup to warm you up. Once I'd put all the ingredients into the slow cooker it seemed alarmingly too full so I changed my mind and simmered it all slowly in a big saucepan instead. Great results!
 
Comment:
09 Jul 2009
Linda said:
Altered ingredient amounts. Instead of bones I used a big hunk of skirt steak and added a beef stock cube. I also used only 6 cloves of garlic.
 
16 Jun 2014
Reviewed by: Loz50
Very bland. Disappointing.
 
23 May 2000
Reviewed by: KARENELLIS
could use more information on the "spice bag"what spices are in the spice bag.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: KATSMEOW
I agree that the bouquet garini spice ball reference was vague. So I googled it and there is a website called Sara's Secrets that gives great ideas for what spices to use.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: COASTERBRAKE
This was a tasty and filling. I changed it by using the beef cubes for stew instead of dealing with the bones. That one change saved me a lot of time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: Sandy
I REALLY like this soup. It's a perfect meal for a busy, chilly day. I made some alterations, not because I thought it needed it, just because I didn't have everything on hand. Instead of making a bouquet garni, I just added 1t of thyme and 2 bay leaves along with the parsley. I didn't have any barley on hand, so I simply added 1/2 c. of quinoa. SUPER good. Next time I won't add as much salt. Thank you for sharing this easy recipe! Even my kids lapped it up! : )
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: E.E.
Could be a good slow-cooker version, but I think the soup bones need the traditional browning and slow-roasting to really extract all the flavor and make this a great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: B.L.
Next time, I will just use beef broth from a can and put the barley in it. This recipe, I think, was unnecessarily time consuming. Tasty, though.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes