My Reviews (35)

Buttermilk Pancakes with Fruit Sauce

A generous dollop of warm fruit puree on top is what makes my favourite fluffy pancakes truly special.
Reviews (35)


12 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: NADES
I just made the pancakes but not the fruit topping. The pancake recipe alone is wonderful! To make the pancakes "fluffier", I added the tsp of baking soda to the buttermilk and set it aside for a bit while I got everything else ready. This really made the pancakes rise wonderfully and they were light & fluffy! This will be our standard pancake recipe from now on!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: Amy
Well,I'm not sure it's fair for me to rate this but I'm going to anyway. I only used this recipe for the fruit topping. What a brilliant idea. I love to eat plain yogurt with granola and with the addition of this fruit topping it is so yummy! I don't put the bananas in it though and I use unsweetened frozen berry mix with pineapple and the brown sugar. I then put it in a glass jar and into the fridge and then I have a nice supply of a very healthy and yummy snack! Thank for such a brilliant idea....and so simple too!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: mellelady
This is my new favorite pancake recipe. Both pancakes and topping are wonderful. Pancakes had great flavor and texture but as someone else mentioned, batter is very thick. I found that re-stirring the batter before cooking eliminated that problem. For the topping, I didn't have raspberries but used canned strawberries in their place and the topping turned out unbeliveably good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jul 2008
This was agood recipe. I only made the pancakes and they turned out great. The bater was not too thick or thin. I did let the batter sit about 10 minutes while I finished getting ready for the day. I used a pancake baker and they did not burn. they were fluffy and the flavor was nice and smooth. These stayed with us longer than other recipes or box mixes do. I doubled the recipe and it made 16 8 inch pancakes. They don't have the bitter taste that other recipes have and the don't fall apart either. I asked my DH and he said they were good. Our boys went for seconds. Thanks for the recipe I will make this again over and over.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
I followed the recipe exact, only cutting the topping in half and I only used less than a quarter cup of brown sugar. My husband wasn't hip on the topping but he thought the pancakes were perfect. And my kids? We'll, they thought the whole thing was great! I squirted a little whipped topping on the top and my oldest boy was so thrilled with that, because he remembers getting fruit topped pancakes at Sheri's with whipped topping on the top. I liked this whole idea, but next time when I make the topping, I'll use all berries. It's not the recipe's issue, it's just personal choice.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Sumchelle
Oh my... I didn't think any other pancake would top the "TRUCK STOP" pancakes on this site. Good gravy, this one did!!! Fluffy, stick-to-your-ribs goodness. (Didn't make the fruit topping) This will be my Number 1 Pancake recipe, and "Truck Stop" will be my second.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: chocolatmorgan
I'll never buy bisquick again. I never knew it would be this easy to make truly "homemade" pancakes. I had no buttermilk so I added 2 tablespoons of vinegar to 2 cups of milk. I prepared a hot apple topping with fresh sliced apples with cinnamon and butter that I cooked til tender quickly with the microwave and topped with cool whip - my husband was impressed.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: CINDY3539
Watch out. These burn before the middles are done if cooked on too high a heat. This recipe halves nicely. The batter is thick. The only change I made was separating the egg. I added the yolk in with the wet ingredients & whipped the white to a soft peak. I then combined the wet & the dry. Lastly, I folded in the whipped egg white. These tasted & looked very nice. I will definatley make these again. I didn't make the fruit sauce. Just topped mine with butter & syrup. Yum.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: SUE PAYNE
I made the pancakes only, not the topping. The only change I made was using all winter wheat flour (no AP flour) and added a bit of cinnamon. Came out light and wonderful and a bit more nutritous!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: emandme
I love this recipe, and never again will I buy the store bought pancake mix! I added the baking soda to the buttermilk as one reviewer suggested, but I am fairly sure that if you mix everything together and let it rest for a half an hour, you'd have the same results. Six of one, half a dozen of the other . Thanks for the great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes