My Reviews (22)

Fluffy Banana Pancakes

The reaction between the bananas and the buttermilk combined with the baking powder makes these super fluffy.
Reviews (22)


04 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: pomplemousse
I made these pancakes mainly to get rid of bananas and buttermilk . . .now I have a stack of pancakes I have to do something with (I may freeze them) LOL! I read through all of the reviews prior to making and I have to agree that there's way too much liquid in this. So, I cut it down to 1 c like another reviewer. I had four bananas to use, so I just mashed them all and added a bit more flour, baking powder, added sugar (about 2 tspns) and vanilla and cinnamon. they turned out really good--tons of banana flavor in every bite, and not too sweet or too bland. I have to say, though, that since I made so many modifications I'm not sure how close to the original recipe this is; it's definitely one you have to tweak to what works for you. thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 May 2011
Reviewed by: Trixie
There is nothing awsome about these pancakes. I evne followed the tweeks that some one else did. Decrease the buttermilk, add honey and added baking powder. My husband said these are not a keeper. But on a positive note the kids liked them alot.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Sep 2012
Reviewed by: Lois
Only 1 cup of flour to 2 cups of buttermilk made for a very soupy batter, and these pancakes were certainly not fluffy. The addition of a little vanilla and 1/4 cup sugar helped a little with flavor,
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: steviesuzie
I didn't care much for this recipe at all. The texture was mushy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Oct 2012
Reviewed by: DMitchell
i thought the flavor was great, i used the "most helpful positive review" tweeks, and it made really good crepes....not really pancakes though...but put some homemade gingerbread whipped cream in here and you've got yourself an awesome breakfast/brunch
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Sep 2012
Reviewed by: Deborah Jacques
There is NOT too much liquid. That part is just right. I added about a tablespoon of coconut oil, a good dash of cinnamon, 1 teaspoon of vanilla. Used 1/2 teaspoon each of baking powder and soda. These are very moist pancakes. With my adaptations, I'd give this a 4 star rating.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: sama.bowe
These were not fluffy, they were soggy. Not enough flour and not enough baking powder.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Sep 2015
Reviewed by: wbodine112
Not sure what I did wrong, but it was entirely too liquidy--the first pancake came out more like a crepe. I had to more than double the dry ingredients to make the rest come out looking more like pancakes. Other than that, they were OK. Won't use this recipe again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Mar 2014
Reviewed by: Sara
I did not care for this recipe. No matter how long I cooked them they had a sort of underdone texture.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jul 2013
Reviewed by: caro_writ
Tried this recipe while substituting milk for buttermilk. It was okay, but very, very runny.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes