My Reviews (14)

Coconut and Pecan Christmas Cake

White chocolate, coconut and pecans make the cake so delicious! Bake it this Christmas to impress your family!
Reviews (14)


21 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Jillian
Well, "WOW" was definitely the reaction I got from this cake! It's an absolutely delicious white chocolate cake! It's definitely moist from the buttermilk and amount of eggs. It's also very, very dense and sweet so you really will want to cut this into small pieces. The coconut and pecans almost make this a white German chocolate cake. I left one layer white and dyed one layer green and one layer red to get a really nice "Christmas" effect. As for the frosting, I had to play with it a bit. The cream cheese was a bit of overkill so I wanted to lessen that plus once it was mixed it was a little runny. Also, if you use butter you aren't going to get a nice white frosting which is what you really want for this cake. So, after having used butter and CLEAR vanilla extract I had to add additional confectioners' sugar and 1/2 cup of plain shortening. I whipped it up and that did the trick. I garnished the caked with some additional coconut dyed with red and green food coloring - almost too pretty to eat!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: Kelly Land
Great cake. Used it for a wedding cake and people raved about it. Since I was using it for a large group of people, I omitted the coconut and pecans and it still turned out wonderful.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Pheobe Alverson
This cake is FANTASTIC. It's reminds me of carrot cake -- but without the spices. The other reviewer described it as dense. Well, it's as dense as carrot cake can be, but it's not a BAD dense. It's actually pretty fluffy and light. I made it in 3 circle pans (I don't even OWN that many square pans). Not sure why it's called Christmas cake -- I made it in July. Maybe it's someone's Christmas tradition... Anyhow. The frosting is AMAZING. I got absolute RAVE reviews from everyone that ate it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: adriene
this is my mom's absolute *favorite* cake! its very dense and delicous, i make it every Christmas.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: TheresaM
When I made this recipe, I got the following response: "Amazing." The cake was absolutely scrumptious and the frosting was delicious. I poured the batter into a (well-greased-and-floured) 11x15 pan, instead of doing a layered cake, and that worked out great. Highly recommended! People'll love it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: christiejc
I have to give this only 3 stars because I have had to turn it into a Triffle due to each layer sticking to the pan. I followed the directions exactlly, let the cake cool in the pan for 10 minutes, that cake was completly destroyed. The 2nd layer I let sit for an additional 10 minutes, and it was no better. I am still waiting for the 3rd layer to come out of the oven, but at this point, I have no choice, it is Christmas Eve and I need the dessert for dinner tomorrow! ...it does taste wonderful!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 May 2009
Reviewed by: becky
Excellent! I used round pans instead as I didn't have square pans and it worked just as well. I also found that I had mixed everything and then went to put the flour in only to realize I didn't have anything but whole wheat flour. I thought I'd give it a whirl as I was making this for a friend's birthday and didn't have time to start over. It turned out GREAT! I was thoroughly surprised. I also sprinkled more coconut over the top of the cake after I frosted it and it made it look very nice.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: Pam Z
This recipe was great easy to make but I believe it took a little longer in the oven then instructed but it got rave reviews!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: Nathan Kelley
This is a great white cake. It does take some work in making it but it is so worth it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Janet Shum
This was delicious, it is the same as an Italian Cream Cake. It needs a little more baking time or it will turn out gummy. Frosting was delicious too!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes