My Reviews (12)

Quickest Salsa

I love salsa and this is the quickest and easiest recipe for it I have found. I like lots of garlic, you should adjust it to your taste.
Reviews (12)


03 May 2013
Reviewed by: BakingNana
I omitted the oil altogether and used tinned tomatoes with green chilies.
 
Comment:
08 Oct 2008
SHELAGGIE said:
Altered ingredient amounts. I loved this. I used fresh, chopped tomatoes and added chopped red onion. I used less extra virgin olive and about five cloves of fresh minced garlic. I had my Italian uncle and aunt over and they loved it served on toasted bagette bread for crostini.
 
Comment:
08 Oct 2008
SWINSTEAD said:
Used different ingredients. Yummy! I used a big bunch of coriander rather than the parsley, and would suggest using a less oil.
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: THEWAY2BE
Needs some flavour and a lot less oil.
 
27 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: BRENDA BELLAMY
Well, Lila, I loved this. Sure, its isn't a salsa, per say, but it is wonderful as a crostini topping. I changed things a bit but got the same idea as you. I used fresh, chopped Roma tomatoes and added chopped red onion. I used less extra virgin olive than you and about five cloves of fresh minced garlic. I had my Italian uncle and aunt over and they loved it served on toasted bagette bread for crostini appetizers.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jul 2001
Reviewed by: GERARDO
Needs some flavor and a lot less oil. This is not really so much a salsa as garlic-flavored tomatoes (which you can find right next to the diced tomatoes, anyway).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: SmithinJapan
I think before people continue to berate this recipe they need to realize that there are various types of parsley. Cooking with your general, curly-leafed parsley used for garnish in many Western nations will give you little flavour. Italian parsley, however, is much closer to cilantro, and Chinese parsley is EXACTLY the same thing as cilantro. In regions where the latter are used commonly for cooking, some people simply call it 'parsley'. Different places, different names ('cilantro', by the way, is also called 'coriander' in an many Asian nations). This is meant to be a simple pasta, and with the right type of parsley it is just that.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: LUNAGIRL42
Yummy! I used a big bunch of cilantro rather than the parsley, and would suggest using a 1/3 cup of olive oil rather than a half.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: sheila
Sensational! what a great recipe! short on time? used canned diced, got a little more time? Use fresh tomatoes (and if from your garden- at no cost!) and dice, the herbs and spices are already on most pantry shelves - no special trip to the store! Best of all - it tastes GREAT. My DH hates peppers and I can't tell you how many times I've got to skip over salsa because it has them - he cant even stand the smell of 'em. so for us this is THE recipe. I do add diced onion, red or sweet or both! and I do add a bit of hot sauce sometimes for zip but this is the rock upon which I build my salsa! thanks Lila!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: mkstevens09
I made this when I was in a pinch and needed salsa for a recipe but did not have any on hand. I agree with others that say this is not quite a salsa as most would imagine it. It is not bad, but not an exact replacement for regular salsa. I think this is better as a bruschetta or something similar. For my current needs I reduced the olive oil by half, but would leave it as is if I made it again for other purposes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes