My Reviews (20)

Yule Log With Mocha Cream Icing

This is a combination of recipes - the filling came from my aunt and the mocha icing is my creation. Now it's a family tradition!
Reviews (20)


27 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: MaDonna
I really liked this recipe. One change I made was to the frosting. As written it is way to buttery. I had to add more icing sugar and more coffee to even out the flavors. The cake was easy to make and came out great. For those having trouble with the filling: make sure the flour/milk mixture gets very thick, almost like paste before you add it the the butter and sugar. I did this and it turned out fluffy and creamy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Di
This is the most delicous yule log we've ever had. It's not very sweet, the filling is very creamy & absolutely fantastic with the nuts. little hint though, once the cake comes out of the oven, lay the cake on a towel dusted with icing sugar then pre-roll the cake and let cool completely before unrolling it and adding the filling.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: turk112
I had some major "issues" while making this Yule Log. First the cake itself didn't seem to have much flavor. I'm no expert baker either and the directions seemed very vauge. The filling didn't thicken up and when I "rolled" the cake, the filling oozed out everywhere and the cake fell apart. Yes, it was completely cool. I didn't bother proceding. I don't know if I did something wrong but I followed the recipe to a tee and what a disaster!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: SANDBOUL
I baked this for Christmas, and it was absolutely delicious! I made some variations to the original recipe. I baked the genoise the same way, then I rolled it into a wet kitchen towel, and let it cool down. For the filling, I followed the recipe, but instead of using vanilla extract, I melted some semisweet chocolate and added it to the cream. Also, when cooking the milk and flour, I added some Grand Marnier (orange liquor). I did not use the same frosting, since I wanted to have the traditional "creme au beurre" that my grand-mother was using. Use 1/2 cup of water, 1/4 cup sugar, 1/4 cup semisweet chocolate, 1 egg yolk, and 1 stick of unsalted butter at room temperature. Now melt the suger in the water on low heat to make a syrup. Coold down a little, then pour over the egg yolk, stirring constantly. Using a hand mixer, add pieces of the soften butter until you get a silky cream. Add the melted chocolate. Cover the log with this frosting and put the log in the fridge for 12 hours. Then enjoy! Note: I also used some marzipan that I colored with food colorants to decorate the log with a snowman, some xmas trees.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Katya
This was an absolute hit at our Christmas table!!! The filling and frosting were the best part of the yule log!!! I will certainly use them for other cakes as well. One part that I did differently was that I rolled the cake without anything when it was still warm, for it to acquire the form. Then obviously unrolled it when it cooled down and put in the filling. Will certainly make it again and thank you very much for such wonderful and delicious recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: OUTRAYGISVIXEN
Ok so the first part went very smooth which was nice because this is my very first time making a yule log. The second part, the filling, I DON'T THINK SO !!! Umm, it was not fluffy at all, it was a liquid texture and there was no way if I layed that out on the cake part it would have been like putting milk on the cake. It was just rediculous. Anyway, I took the idea of another filling and used that with the cake and frosting part. I really wanted it to be a great cake for this Christmas and hopefully even though I had to substitute the filling part it will be. I won't use this recipe again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Audrey Storm
The directions were extremely vague and generally unhelpful. I followed them as well as possible and my cake came out extremely rubbery. It rolled with no problem, but the texture is awful. It also does not have a strong chocolate-y flavor. The filling was also a problem. First, it wasn't fluffy as it was described to be. Second, there was hardly enough for half the cake. I ended up scrapping it and making a chocolate mousse filling. Having no trust left in the recipe, I made my own icing. I definitely do not recommend this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Jen
I had the same problem as others with the filling - just liquid. The instructions are very vague at parts. After the filling turned out to be "not filling" I gave up told my mom (who was helping) to just forget it and throw it out. She insisted on continuing, ending up with a gooey mess. I will never make this again and am very disappointed that we will not have a dessert for Christmas. Unfortunately, my oven is also uneven, which is no fault of the recipe, so the cake part itself was burnt on one side and just done on the other. I do not recommend this recipe too anyone.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: Adenzmom
cake part was great, but filling turned out liquid! help!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: Claire
It turned out alright, but the filling was overly buttery. I'm thinking for round two, I'm going to blend in more sugar, and maybe some melted chocolate. Also the powdered chocolate tastes funny to me, so I'll probably play with it. Either way, good recipe base, but play with it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes