My Reviews (82)

Easy Gelato

This is a very basic and easy gelato recipe that you can any flavour any way you like, try flakes of chocolate, vanilla, caramel or fresh strawberries.
Reviews (82)


30 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Paula
This is an excellent gelato recipe. You definitely taste the rich egg custard so it is well suited for the richer flavor additions like chocolate, coffee, etc.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: Kelly Ann Thomas
This is the best ice cream/gelato I have ever tasted - and I cannot believe I made it my little Cuisinart ice cream machine! I followed the basic recipe but added a significant amount of chocolate to the cream mixture before heating it up - 1 cup of semisweet chocolate chips, a 3.5 oz. 70 % dark chocolate bar and 1/4 cup of Dutch Cocoa. I also added an additional 1/4 cup of sugar due to the cocoa content, though next time I will reduce it to one extra tablespoon. I left the saucepan of cream unattended too long - by the time I returned there were bubbles, but nothing burned or curdled. The same thing happened when I returned the mixture to the stove after tempering the eggs. Still, it came out perfect. I noticed that it did not expand in my machine, which is nice because it remained super rich and creamy. I don't know if it is because the excess chocolate weighed it down, but oh...I cannot even think right now, as I am too busy fantasizing about that container of chocolate gelato just sitting in my freezer, so lonely... Thank you for a great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: JackRabbit
I added 1/4 cup of Hershey's Special Dark dry cocoa. It was exquisite. I used my KitchenAid professional mixer that has an ice cream attachment and the frozen ice cream bowl is perfect to make gelato as it does not incorporate air making the gelato taste as good as any traditional Italian gelato I have ever had. I can't wait to try just the base recipe. My husband and son loved it and only wish I had made more. On a side note, we had the dark chocolate gelato after a very spicy meal of traditional red Jambalaya and it was a nice dessert to quench the fire of the main dish. The dark chocolate cocoa is more black walnut in color and it turned out very elegant. And yes, I did strain it, very good advice from previous reviews.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: VERONICA7
This is a great simple starter recipe for gelato. In Italy, they call this particular flavor "crema." I make it plain or use it as a base for other flavors (nutella, cinnamon, strawberry, so far). The trick is to temper your eggs carefully and to make sure that you don't overcook the custard mixture so that it curdles. You can still strain it but the finished frozen product is icy rather than smooth (learned that lesson the hard way). Try it, you won't be disappointed!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 May 2010
Reviewed by: Annette Marcelo
Wonderful! I used 2 whole eggs instead of 4 egg yolks and increased the other ingredients by 50%. It was fantastic! This recipe is definitely a keeper. I used skim milk and it was still rich and creamy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: NSTARK
Excellent! I even managed to get it a pretty good consistency without using an ice cream maker. I followed instructions elsewhere to place in freezer and remove every 30 minutes to whisk back to creamy for 2 hours. Added 2 splashes of vanilla extract and 1 splash of almond extract for a tasty basic vanilla. Next is onto the flavors. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Liz Kish
This came out tasting great- not too eggy for me. For those that it came out eggy tasting- I think you should try cooking a bit longer on the stove. My only complaint is it was a bit icy and not creamy, but I think this is b/c my ice cream maker is from about 1970 haha. Great recipe, thanks for posting!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Linda(LMT)
Wonderful recipe when made correctly. First this recipe will taste eggy if you use it too soon. It is best if left to chill overnight. Second this is custard flavored as is not vanilla flavored. Third the recipe does not state egg size. I am assuming because the recipe is older that medium eggs would have been standard ... Today standard seems to be large so maybe using 3 yolks would be better. I enjoyed the flavor without adding anything to it. It was rich and creamy yet light. Wonderful when you follow the directions.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: vivianlee
This is the best recipe for gelato that I've found! It's a great base recipe for adding flavorings such as mango pulp, pistachio, chocolate, vanilla bean, Nutella. I have tried skipping the straining step, and didn't notice much of a difference. However, if the mixture seems overheated or curdled, it's best to strain the mixture after taking it off the stove to remove the curdled bits before refrigeration.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 May 2010
Reviewed by: Ellie_B.
This is an excellent recipe! I live in Sicily, and I absolutely love gelato! After a visit back to the States last summer, I was amazingly disappointed at regular ice cream. This recipe is great! I did double-strain the mixture. I made this for dessert when entertaining guests over the weekend. I flavored it with vanilla and almond, then served it with Zuppa Inglese (there's a great recipe for that on here, too). You'll have guests talking about it for a long time. I already have it requested for our 4th of July gathering. Buon Apetito!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes