My Reviews (236)

Halloween Spiced Pumpkin Cake

This recipe is good anytime of the year, but if it has pumpkin in it why not make it look like a pumpkin; and pumpkin means Halloween.
Reviews (236)


09 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: VINTAGEMONKEY
Delicious! I did however make some changes. I wanted to make it a little bit more healthier so I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 applesauce. Also added more spices than recipe called for. I used 1/2 white flour and 1/2 whole wheat flour. Also cut down the sugar to less than 2 cups and used 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar. Finally I topped it w/ cream cheese frosting. So good! moist, flavorful and delicious
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: JUSTINHCA
Easy to prepare, moist, and tasty. Not too spicy either. You can cut the cooking time in half if you use a 13x9 rectangular baking dish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: COOKINGIRLLJ
The blend of spices really gives this cake nice flavor! I normally prefer to make cakes with butter and/or margarine versus oil, so next time I will try that. Oil does make the cake moist, but butter gives much more depth of flavor. I baked the cake in a tube pan and frosted the top portion of the cake with an orange cream cheese frosting. The frosting: 6 oz. cream cheese, 3 T butter, 1 1/2 T freshly squeezed orange juice, 1 T grated orange rind, 1 t. vanilla extract, and enough powdered sugar to make the desired frosting consistency (approx. 2 cups). The cake and the frosting make a great combination!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: naples34102
I made no changes to this as I saw no need to. Looking at the recipe, the combination of ingredients, especially the spices, seemed just right-and they were. No applesauce, no reduction of oil for me-if you're gonna eat cake, eat cake! It isn't supposed to be healthy, just a nice treat! Neither did I add raisins or nuts, even though both would be good. Just wanted a pure and simple pumpkin cake. This one delights - tender, soft crumb, not too sweet, and a pleasant blend of spices, none of them overpowering. I baked them in mini pumpkin pans, then decorated them with tinted orange and green Butter Cream Frosting II from this site. The end result was autumn bliss- smooth, silky little pumpkin cakes that are melt-in-your mouth good. Hubby and his staff gobbled up all 23! (out of 24... I had to taste-test one of them, right?)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: lmcelmeel
This cake was very good! I made it for a dessert contest at work around Halloween - I baked 12 little mini bundt cakes and used 2 cakes together to make mini-pumpkins. I used frosting to keep the 2 cakes together and then placed them in a baking dish of crumbled oreos and chocolate pudding (you wouldn't think chococate and pumpkin cake would go together, but they do!) I brushed the pumpkins with glaze(using powdered sugar, milk and a little red and yellow food coloring), let them dry, and then glazed them again and used green frosting to create stems and vines. viola! pumpkin patch!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: SUSANLEE
One word: DELICIOUS!!! I was a bit confused as to why the recipe called for "Allspice" AS WELL AS cloves, ginger, and cinnamon which are all components of "Allspice." (I went into Allrecipes' substitutions chart and found that "Allspice" was comprised of ginger, cloves, and cinnamon.) But hey - it worked! Thank you D. Adams! This was a hit with my 7-year-old as well as with my whole office!!! It was very moist and no frosting was needed, just a light dusting of powdered sugar - yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: PreciousBeloved
This cake was wonderful. I used 1/2 c. applesauce and 1/2 c. oil as others had suggested. The cake was very moist and the pumpkin flavor was good (not too strong or overpowering). I took it to a family gathering and got rave reviews. I will make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: JUINFILLE
Fantastic! I get requests & compliments on this constantly! I DID make a change & a substitution. I use less sugar - 1 3/4 cups. I was out of pumpkin one day & used squash instead - a big hit! If you have access to Pampered Chef's Cinnamon Plus - use 4 tsp of that instead of the separate spices. This recipe is a family FAVORITE!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: DOUBLELOVE4
Absolutely awesome! Made this for church coffee hour and 2 people asked for recipe. It tastes terrific with real whipped cream. I used a bundt pan, and because it was a dark teflon one I decreased the temperated about 10 degrees. It came out perfect made exactly as the recipe states. Would probably freeze well, too. If you need an excellent Fall desert that is simple, delicious and tasty, you have to try this!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: ANGELDOE
This was a great cake it was moist and very easy to make. I made some alterations such as the oil instead of a cup I only did 1/2 and the rest was applesauce I also used fresh pumpkin instead of the canned varity, the fresh was awesome tasting I encourage you to try it. I added golden raisins instead of nuts I'll try both sometime. Thanks for this wonderful receipe D Adams I will enjoy passing this along to friends and family as gift's this holiday season
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes