My Reviews (2,522)

Shredded Pork Sandwiches

Mouth-watering, pork cooked in a slow cooker and served with barbecue sauce. An American favourite, serve on floury soft rolls with coleslaw and potato crisps.
Reviews (2522)


Comment:
27 Mar 2011
Wandering said:
Altered ingredient amounts. 2 cups of bbq sauce is overkill. it made it way too sweet and overpowering ruining the natural flavour. next time ill add half a cup or 3/4 if needed.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
memejw said:
Something else. This recipe is impossible to screw up...also, everyone we've tried this (about ten times) on loves it. After experimenting a bit, we've settled on the following: pepper then brown pork -- chop med - large onion, put in bottom of slow cooker with browned meat on top, then pour on 1/2-3/4 bottle of bbq sauce, cook for 8-10 hours, remove bone(s) and large pieces of fat, shred meat, put back in the cooker, mix with the leftover bbq sauce then switch to high for 1/2-1 hr. serve on rolls with beer
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: T-Bone
Really, really good. Again, I always follow the recipe exactly the first time I make it and this time I was glad I had. I was very tempted, like others, to just throw the sauced meat back into the slow cooker - I mean, why mess up another pan, right? Well I think it made a big, positive difference to the final product. The time in the oven kind of browns the tips and makes it seem more like meat done on the bbq. I will definately be making this again.
 
03 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: katy
yummy yummy.. I served these in homemade bread rolls with lettuce and homemade chips was a sure fire hit
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: THEBOYCANPLAY
It was delicious, easy and inexpensive.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: BSAUNDER
Don't use an expensive cut of meat when the cheap cuts work as well. Honestly, the pork will be very tender and the flavour rich. It only takes a small amount of work to remove the bones & fat. The meat itself remains reasonably lean. You will save much money by trying the cheaper cuts of pork
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: XYZWYATT
turned out excellent!
 
26 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: ginger
After reading the reviews I did the following - I bought 4 lb pork butt - a less expensive cut of meat. I put the meat and broth in the slow cooker for 10 hours, shredded it right away (it shredded very easily) added 1 1/2 bottles of barbecue sauce and refrigerated it overnight. The next day I put it back in the slow cooker for a couple of hours to reheat. It was delicious, easy and inexpensive.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Mar 2004
Reviewed by: KAYETD
This is how I cook my bbq pork. Recommendation for those who have used pork tenderloin, boneless pork chops, etc., - you're using an expensive cut of meat when the cheap cuts work as well. Honestly, the pork will be very tender and the flavor rich. It only takes a small amount of work to remove the bones & fat. The meat itself remains reasonably lean. You will save much money by trying the pork butt, pork roast, etc.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: amethystshells
The way i made this turned out excellent! I used approximately 5.5 lbs of pork ribs with the bone since i coulldn't find boneless. I made my own sauce from a Taste Of Home recipe i have for pork ribs. Plain bottled sauce seemed like it wouldn't taste good. The recipe i used for the sauce is: 1/2 cup cider vinegar 1/2 cup packed brown sugar 1/2 cup ketchup 1/4 cup chili sauce 1/4 cup Worcestershire sauce 2 tbsp chopped onions 1 tbsp lemon juice 1/2 tsp ground mustard 1 clove garlic, minced dash cayenne pepper Combine all sauce ingredients in a saucepan. Simmer, uncovered, for 1 hour or until slightly thickened, stirring occasionally.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes