My Reviews (359)

Stir Fried Sesame Prawns

In my opinion prawns are at their best stir fried briefly with spices and some fresh vegetables and served over white rice. Try it and see what you think.
Reviews (359)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Used different ingredients. Can I give this 10 stars?? Excellent dish! Couple changes I made.. I used fresh grated root ginger instead of powdered and added some lemon rind to the prawns.Wonderful recipe, great reviews from guests! Thanks for adding it
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Dyann said:
Used different ingredients. wow...what a yummy recipe! i used canola oil and added a little sesame oil at the end. also, i used about 3/4 tsp of wasabi powder instead of cayenne pepper. also, i substituted fresh root ginger pressed through the garlic press and left out the salt. added a little soy sauce too (why not?). i left out the red capsicum and added broccoli and spring onion. i used frozen broccoli and snow peas, but i think i'll use fresh next time and add mushrooms and water chestnuts. my husband and i got some fresh large prawns and we had no idea what to do with them. thank goodness we found this recipe!
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Used different ingredients. This was good and easy. I did change a few things. I added 4 tbsp soy sauce to the spices when I marinated the prawns. Instead of chicken stock I used about 100ml of rice wine and used about 1 tsp of cornflour. I also substituted soy sauce for the teriyaki sauce. I used powered ginger, but would love to try this with fresh. It turned out very well. My hubby liked it too.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: KARRIK
theres only one problem with this recipe. you should never cook in sesame oil!!! its for flavour only! cook in regular vegetable oil or another oil of your choice, but if you use sesame oil to fry in it will be too strong and will burn easily! for the sesame flavour, add a few teaspoons of the sesame oil to the sauce. other than that this is an excellent recipe.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: JOELSGIRL
Unnessarily complicated. Why do we need directions for cooking rice. The final result is not worth all those measurements. Just ok for us.
 
12 May 2006
Reviewed by: WMAQ
theres only one problem with this recipe. you should never cook in sesame oil!!! its for flavor only! cook in regular vegetable oil or another oil of your choice, but if you use sesame oil to fry in it will be too strong and will burn easily! for the sesame flavor, add a few teaspoons of the sesame oil to the sauce. other than that this is an excellent recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: NYPD K9 COP
Can I give this 10 stars?? Excellent dish! Couple changes I made.. I used fresh grated ginger instead of powdered and added some lemon zest to the shrimp. I used 8-12 shrimp per pound then partial way through I butterflied them in half. The larger shrimp the better you are, these things are as succulant as lobster tails!! A+++ recipe, great reviews from guests! Thanks for adding it
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: Dragynwing
wow...what a yummy recipe! i used canola oil and added a little sesame oil at the end. also, i used about 3/4 tsp of wasabi powder instead of cayenne pepper. also, i substituted fresh ginger pressed through the garlic press and left out the salt. added a little soy sauce too (why not, huh?). i left out the red pepper and added broccoli and sweet onion. i used frozen broccoli and sugar snap peas, but i think i'll use fresh next time and add mushrooms and water chestnuts. my husband and i got some fresh large gulf shrimp and we had no idea what to do with them. thank goodness we found this recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: R&R
This was good and easy. I did change a few things. I added 1/4 cup soy sauce to the spices when I marinated the shrimp. Instead of chicken broth I used about 1/2 cup of rice wine and used about 1 tsp of cornstarch. I also substituted soy sauce for the teriyaki sauce. I used powered ginger, but would love to try this with fresh. It turned out very well. My hubby liked it too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: BSA650
We liked this dish and consider it a keeper but will make some modifications next time. Agree that the ginger should be fresh and the sesame seeds toasted. We used Hoison sauce instead of the Teriyaki. Next time we will substitute tabasco for the cayenne pepper in the marinade. Will also add cashews for a bit of texture. (This dish paired well with Sauvignon Blanc).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes