My Reviews (169)

Almond and Mandarin Salad

Fresh and healthy this is a great salad that combines the protein of the nuts with the sweetness of mandarins.
Reviews (169)


22 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: MikeN
I don't cook. My wife does. However, in an effort to help my wife, because we were in a time crunch, I found this website and this recipe. I don't even know what dry mustard or white wine vinegar are. Be that as it may, I made this salad and it was great. Very tasty flavored with the salt of the bacon and the sweet of the honey. Because of the ease of making this salad and how good it came out I've actually joined this site and am currently looking up other recipes I can make.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Sep 2003
Reviewed by: dbcheese
I thought this recipe was great! I used a teaspoon of real dijon mustard instead of dry mustard and used turkey bacon instead of the real thing (just as good). I wanted to make more of a "meal" out of this so I added grilled chicken breast as well and it really was terrific!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 May 2003
Reviewed by: PEILOVER010202
This salad is great! Nice combination of flavors. I did not add the bacon and it was still a very good salad minus all the fat. Very easy to make. The dressing is also fabulous.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: MAGGIE MCGUIRE
Outstanding salad, Barbara! For personal preference I cut the honey to 1 1/2T, added 1t Dijon in addition to the dry mustard, omitted celery salt and added 1/2c diced celery, and toasted the almonds. WONDERFUL FLAVOR and CRUNCH! Thanks much.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Aug 2003
Reviewed by: Laura M
Loved this salad! Definitely recommend waiting until the last minute to toss with the dressing, and in my opinion it is better to add less than you think you need, and serve the rest at the table. I could not find white wine vinegar and used white vinegar instead. It worked. I also toasted the almonds before adding to the salad, and was sure to drain the mandarins really good! Do NOT save this salad as leftovers! You won't be able to eat it, make everyone have seconds! I'm sure they will want to anyway. Great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 May 2003
Reviewed by: KITUMS
Loved this salad instead of using real bacon I used Smart Bacon (vegeterian) and didnt add all of the calories. Yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: Diane
The first time I made this dressing, using Extra Virgin Olive Oil, I found it tasted too oily. So, I threw that out and started over, using Canola Oil. I thought it still tasted too oily, so next time I would cut the oil in half. To compensate for the oily taste, I added Balsamic Vinegar and a dash of lemon juice. That seemed to do the trick, at least for my taste buds. I will definitely make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: a_cook
I love this recipe. Took it to a luncheon pot luck & it got rave reviews. Don't assemble the salad until you are ready to serve though (will get soggy~ just bring all ingredients in seperate bags/containers). Used white vinegar instead of white wine vinegar. Also added green peppers. So good
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: Momof2
This was very appealing to the eye, but I wasn't too thrilled with the taste. I have no idea why, but it just wasn't what we expected. I like the ideas of all the ingredients, but I think I will have to experiment some with this so that it suits us. Thanks for the post.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: MONKEYGRP
Great dressing. Don't toss until just before eating and don't use too many oranges or the lettuce goes limp. Also, does dry hot mustard mean wasabi powder (a hot green mustard used in japanese cooking)? That's what I used and I loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes