My Reviews (22)

Banana and Peanut Butter Hot Dog

Just like a peanut butter and banana sandwich but the banana stays whole in the middle. You may also want to either butter the bread or spread it thinly with honey.
Reviews (22)


09 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
This was lunch today. HUGE hit with the kids. I made one small change and I drizzled honey over the top of the banana. The kids went nuts for it. Great way to use overripe bananas and make a quick lunch on a busy day. I like to make these with almond butter or Nutella, too. I'll try this with cinnamon swirl bread next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Jillian
Cute and creative! This was a really great snack for kids and kids of all ages. You can also use leftover hot dog rolls in a pinch. I love the combination of peanut butter and banana plus you can jazz this up by adding some raisins, mini marshmallows or mini chocolate chips and drizzling with honey or chocolate syrup. Definitely have a tall glass of milk close by....
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Feb 2008
These are wonderful as breakfast, snack or a light lunch. To make cinnamon-raisin peanut butter, just stir 1/2 cup raisins, 2T sugar and 3t cinnamon into a 16oz jar of peanut butter. Also, make sure the bread is soft and bendable.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Cheesecakemama
We use tortillas at our house to make these, and sometimes use chopped apples too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: palemoon21
I made this for the kids one hot spring afternoon. They were leary of the name...ha ha ha...but were pleasantly surprised at how good these were! It was very quick and easy to make; meanwhile fairly healthy. I used ALL organic ingredients and whole wheat gluten free bread. Delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Lee Duty Bickley
This is so funny.I was just talking about a friend in MI that actually puts peanutbutter on HOT DOGS!The kids eat them, I'm not touching it.This recipe was one of my childhood favorites.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: momof3
I grew up on peanut butter and banana sandwiches, but my oldest didn't like the idea of them. When I found this I thought it would be a perfect way to get him to try my favorite childhood sandwich. Needless to say he loved it! Thanks for such a cute idea.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: amandak23k
I loved these as a kid. My kids only took one bite, oh well I got to eat them!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: dgiles
I also do this with hot dog buns (especially if some are left over). It is very easy for a little one to hold that way.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Peter
Wow I'm not the only one.. I like mine on toasted whole wheat bread with peanut butter I get from the health food store where they have a machine that grinds the peanuts fresh then I slice up a banana to top it off. A great way to start the day!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes