My Reviews (265)

Decorative Easter Bread

Use uncooked eggs when you're making this decorative plain bread as they will bake at the same time that the bread does. The eggs can also be dyed beforehand for extra colour. Use it as an edible centrepiece.
Reviews (265)


11 Mar 2016
Reviewed by: Danamihaela
So ingenious!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
15 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: MAINE-MOMMY
I've alread reviewed this recipe, but I wanted to add something about preventing the color from bleeding. I dyed my eggs for hours to get a rich, dark color. Once they were done I rinsed them in water and dried them very well. When I inserted them into the ring I tried to put them in as deep as possible. Hopefully this helps! Original Review: Beautiful bread! I had to add a little more flour when kneading and shortened the baking time! Perfect!! I made one yesterday for Easter, but my family ate it up so I had to bake another today and it came out even better. Put on sprinkles for added color.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: B Spradley
I love how simple the ingrediants are for this recipe. I've made it several times, the first time I followed the directions exactly, it took all afternoon with all the rising, but it came out great. Since then, i have just thrown everything in my bread machine and placing it on the dough setting, then when finished, i roll out the dough and braid it, let it rise and bake. It's a lot easier for me and still tastes great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: HROSSA
This was a fun bread to make. The dough was easy to make in my mixer. I doubled the recipe and ended up with a wreath of braided bread. I put brown eggs in the wreath, and filled the center with our dyed easter eggs. It made a beautiful centerpiece for Easter. The bread was good, and I peeled the eggs and they were cooked through. I used eggs straight from the fridge and they were not noticibly warm after the loaf rose. However, the finished loaf should probably be refrigerated for storage if you plan on eating the eggs.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: CAFEROX
I made this bread years ago - it was great and people are always impressed by how the colored eggs bake with the bread. I lost the recipe - it's so good to find it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: DABSTERIZE
This is the recipe I have been searching for. It tastes just like the Easter breads available in fine Italian bakeries in NYC. Very easy to prepare. The delicately sweet flavor and light fluffy texture of the bread is irresistable.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: MADAHARI
Wonderful! I made the dough in my bread machine to save time and effort and only put two eggs into the braid. I painted on the coloring so it didn't bleed into the bread too much. My mother-in-law actually took a picture of it! It tasted great, too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: Brofrito
Wow! this bread was easy and very tasty. The first one isn't cold yet and I'm already starting to make more. As others have stated mine only took about 25 minutes to bake to a perfect golden brown. Way to go Holly!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: Kim Scott Lakin
I made this bread for my daughters class and the kids oohed and ahhed over it. It was gobbled up in minutes. The presentation is beautiful. I only baked it for 25 minutes. Watch the time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Apr 2001
Reviewed by: MUMMZY
Great bread, flavorfull and lots of fun. Its great to serve at the table and surprise your guest! Fun and family friendly!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes