My Reviews (34)

Zucchini and Button Squash Pasta

This is a great summer vegetable dish with zucchini and button squash. You can add more garlic if you like.
Reviews (34)


12 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: VEGGIEGIRL83716
The first time I made this recipe, I followed it exactly. It was good, but a bit bland for my taste. The second time, I substituted a few things. First, I added sweet vidalia onions instead of ordinary white onion. I used diced tomatoes with basil and oregano instead of crushed tomatoes. I sauteed all the veggies except the tomatoes in olive oil along with mushrooms and black olives. I added the tomatoes near the end, just to warm through, along with a pinch each of red pepper flakes and italian seasoning. Also, i used radiatore instead of angel hair pasta just because I like it better. With a few changes, this was so good even my meat loving mother loved it! This is a new family staple.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: jmbubble
After reading reviews, I added about a half cup of chopped fresh basil and parsley to the tomatos and let them sit while I prepared the rest of the dish. I also used olive oil instead of butter when heating the onion and garlic. I added a little more fresh basil to the zucchini & squash while they cooked. And I used wwhole heat penne pasta. My fiance and I thought this dish was very good. I'm still eating the left overs!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Julia
Great recipe...delicious! I made this recipe with a few minor modifications. I used one vidalia onion instead of a white onion, 1 (28 oz.) can diced basil oregano garlic tomatoes instead of crushed tomoates and 1/2 cup fresh basil and parsley chopped. I will definitely make this recipe again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: Robin
nice light dish for summer....even for meat lovers! My husband asks for it every week!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: mcgeeld
This was so good and refreshing! I didn't use the entire can of tomatoes and slightly more butter! Will make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Louise Tegtmeier
Big family of picky eaters, and ALL liked this! Definitely will make again. I used fresh tomatoes and squash from my garden.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: Hoobski
This recipe has very nice subtle flavors. I skipped the butter and used olive oil in its place to lose the sat fat. Also added 1/4 cup of chopped fresh parsley. Very good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 May 2011
Reviewed by: cookingmomma5429
Excellent! I used a quart of tomatoes that I canned last summer in place of the crushed tomatoes, omitted the butter and olive oil (the jar of tomatoes had plenty of liquid). I also substituted whole wheat linguine instead of angel hair pasta (sounded better to me). I added Italian seasonings. Hit the spot!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: Kayla
So yummy! I made this tonight for my roommate and my vegetable-hating boyfriend, and even he enjoyed it! I did take a few liberties with the sauce, though; instead of the crushed tomatoes, I used a can of Hunts tomato sauce and a can of Hunts diced tomatoes, because we like our pasta to have a more liquidy sauce. I also added oregano, because I love that stuff. All in all, even though boyfriend wished it'd had meat, he still liked it, and the roommate and I absolutely LOVED it. Very tasty, and it isn't such a heavy pasta that it makes you feel sluggish after you're finished eating. I will definitely make this again, and will definitely recommend it to others!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: OmegaDale
This was pretty good. Needed a lot of modification, but the recipe was a good place to start.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes