My Reviews (84)

Zucchini Cake with Walnuts

Zucchini cakes are wonderful vegetable cakes because the zucchini keeps them moist and tasty. This one has walnuts added for extra texture.
Reviews (84)


06 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: COUNTRY WOMAN
This is the best recipe for zucchini cake. My whole family just loves it. My son raised zuchinni in his garden. The recipe for cream cheese frosting ll on this website is wonderful. I like to put this on the cake!! We did not add nuts. I like the cake recipe because it is so tender and moist. Give this recipe a try. You won't regret it!! YUMMY
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: DJKreut
Yummy cake! I decided to use 1 c carrot and 1 c zucchini… and 2 t cinnamon, 3/4 t ground nutmeg and 1/4 t ground cloves (versus 3 t cinnamon.) I took it to work and the whole ER was begging for seconds! Thanks, Joan, for a great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: CANNWARREN
This cake is incredible. My husband was very leary on trying a cake with Zucchini in it and it's all the rave. I made it for a bake sale to benefit the NYC/DC Crisis and it was the first to sell out. I already have requests for the recipe and to make more for the bake sale next week. From 2 zuchinni's I got 2 9x13 cakes and 3 loafs of Zuchinni Bread. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR SHARING THIS WITH US!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Aug 2001
Reviewed by: HAPPYMJ
This cake is absolutely moist and melts in your mouth. I topped it off with Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting and WOW what a combination. I am planning to make this for a family reunion that my fiance and I are going to.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: I love baking!
Excellent cake! My family really liked this cake, very moist, fluffy and full of flavor! I did use 1 cup whole white wheat flour and 1 cup AP flour, I also did half oil and half applesauce, then reduced the sugar to 1 cup(may reduce to 3/4 cup sugar- the icing will add the extra sweetness.) and left out the nuts. Mine was finished by 25 minutes, so make sure you watch it carefully. Everything else was followed exactly. I made 1/2 the recipe white chocolate cream cheese icing (from carrot cupcakes with white chocolate cream cheese icing- by BAKERAMA- from this site) to top it. It is so good! Great way to use up that zucchini! Oh, I peeled the zucchini before grating.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: Dolly68
This was very, very good and moist. I baked it in a round tube pan for 60 minutes. It dosen't really need any frosting.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: Deb D.
This was a wonderful tasting and very moist cake. I frosted it with a cream cheese frosting. I also added to the recipe, coconut and chocolate chips which I knew would add a lot more calories, but it was oh so well worth it. Usaually cakes in my house usually last for a few days or more, but this cake was totally gone by the next day. My husband and kids and myself all loved it. Try using coconut and chocolate chips you'll love it. Thanks for the great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Pam Ziegler Lutz
This is moist and delicious. I used some Splenda in place of sugar and used 1/2 cup applesauce in place of half the oil. I left out the nuts as I was taking this to a potluck and was unsure of preferences. I will put them in the next time. I frosted with Pineapple Cream Cheese Frosting by Candy Lady (1/2 recipe). Thanks for a great way to use up some zucchini!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Debbie
This is PERFECT!!! Just as written!!!! Thank you so much. Its moist, not oily, perfect spice yum, yum, yum. We are on cake number 4 as it is so good I am sharing it with everyone!!!! Thank you so much for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Linda G.
I LOVE - LOVE this recipe!!! It is extremely moist and flavorful. I packed the zucchini into the measuring cup and measured on the plus side of almost 3 cups. Be sure you do NOT drain the liquid off as you DO need it for the liquid requirements for the recipe. I even substituted a cup of fresh blueberrys for the nuts once and it turned out wonderful, too. I have had requests for both versions. Thanks for the recipe - it's all printed out and a keeper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes