My Reviews (67)

Zingy BBQ Sauce

This is a great marinade recipe for your next BBQ. And if you're feeling a little generous and want to share the recipe, this makes for a great present for friends and family.
Reviews (67)


08 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: Fiona45
Very quick to prepare and a tasty sauce. I also whipped this together when I was out of barbecue sauce (and Tabasco), so added 1/2 of a finely diced chipotle pepper (drained off the adobo sauce), and used a sugar-free ketchup, because husband needs to cut down sugar. Chipotle added a nice underlying smokiness to the taste, I would recommend it. Simmered it for about 35-40 minutes, because I needed it that night. It was quite good even the same day, but was definitely a better sauce the next day, worth the wait. It was a hit, and will make it again. Thank you for adding it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: Smokey
good sauce, i used regular vinegar and it turned great... next time i'll use different kinds of vinegar to see whats flavors come out... but i liked it, i cooked up some choppe up chicken and made some chicken sandwiches with it.... now ribs are cooking and i'm gonna do those with the sauce....
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: Laura
Delicious. Tangy and sweet and very zippy! I reduced the Tabasco by half so there would be a higher chance that my kids would eat it. I made it the night before, and then used it on beef ribs in the crock pot. Wonderful flavor! The ribs are gone, but I've been eating the leftover sauce on rice all week. I'll make this again any time I need a bbq sauce and have time to let it sit all night.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Sep 2012
Reviewed by: ronalyn
I made it as written, except for the white wine vinegar because I was out. The apple cider vinegar I subbed worked great and the sauce was so delicious it will be the only recipe I will use from now on. Thank you for sharing it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Sep 2012
Reviewed by: love2cook
This is the best barbecue sauce recipe ever. I followed the recipe exactly, but doubled it as I was making it for a pork butt in the slow cooker. The aroma in the house made us craving the pork all day. I used about a cup of it to cook the pork in and added more to the pulled pork when I served it. DELICIOUS! Why buy those expensive sauces with lots of additives when you can make a great sauce with ingredients I have in my pantry. Thank you Havicc.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: HopeLivzOn
I have a pork shoulder in the Crockpot headed towards pulled pork. I wanted a special barbecue sauce. This is an excellent basic recipe - all the important elements are there. I did tweak it a little and it is AMAZING! I used a little less worcestershire sauce, fresh minced garlic instead of granulated, used Sriracha instead of Tabasco and added some onion powder and two bay leaves. THEN, I added two tablespoons of Jack Daniels whiskey. I've decided to make a huge batch and keep it in the fridge. It is SO good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jan 2014
Reviewed by: NATALIELOVESDESSERT
This is the BEST recipe! I love the flavor of Sweet Baby Ray original BBQ sauce. This tastes like it except without the nasty corn syrup/high fructose corn syrup in it. I have a bad allergy to corn products so this is my go-to BBQ sauce. I love it so much! Thank you for this recipe I will use it forever!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: mauigirl
Very nice barbecue sauce. Not too sweet. I used fresh garlic instead of dry because that is what I had. I grilled some baby back ribs and basted them generously with this sauce and it was ONO. Thanks for sharing Havicc Brine!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jan 2014
Reviewed by: Shirley
I made this today. I substituted the hot sauce with Frank's Thick Hot sauce. I decreased the ketchup to 3/4c. I added rice white wine 1 TBL. 2 T Brown sugar. I didn't add garlic because I had garlic in my dry rub. I used dark molasses. cooked 20 minutes. Used right away basting ribs every 15 minutes. ( I dry rubbed my ribs the night before. Placed in a broiler pan with 1/4 c red wine vinegar and filled to top with water, lightly cover with aluminum foil, bake at 375 for an hour and half. Then basted every 15 minutes for 45 minutes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Nov 2013
Reviewed by: Sarah
It was a little bland as written, but I added another tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce and 2 tablespoons of mustard, and it was great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes