My Reviews (121)

White Fish with Zesty Mushrooms

This fish recipe has a zesty lime and lemon butter sauce that pairs fantastically with the spring onions and mushrooms. Serve with white rice and your favourite green vegetables.
Reviews (121)


21 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: AMPHORAS
Based on all the rave reviews, I was really shocked and disappointed at how this dish turned out. My husband and I followed all the directions except we did not have scallions, but scallions would not have saved this dish. This dish is just *way* too sour! It was unedible. Even after we tried to "fix" it, it still tasted like Key Lime Fish. So unless you really, really love lime, use maybe 1/4 the amount of lime juice that is specified in the recipe. You can always add more if it's not enough for your taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: Susan Stone
Awesome flavor! I substituted about 1 lb. sautéed mushrooms for half the porcini & used olive oil instead of butter. I'll definitely make this one again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: LEPOMIS
I used regular fresh brown mushrooms, but other than that I followed the recipe ingredients and directions. The dish turned out better than I expected. Remember to trim the red lateral line meat out of the fillet and trim all silvery stuff off of the fish too. These are the parts of the fish that will give the meal an "off" or "fishy" taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Aug 2003
Reviewed by: VEDA MAY
This is a great recipe. I used regular white mushrooms and sauted them in butter, olive oil and fresh garlic before adding the fish. I let the mushrooms cook until they were almost carmalized. Very simple and elegant. Great with roasted red potatoes. Will definately make this again and will try different varities of mushrooms.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 May 2004
Reviewed by: KOALAGIRL
What a perfect meal for a 90+ degree day! Light and refreshing. I used regular button mushrooms instead of porcini. Next time, I am going to add white wine and capers to the butter, lemon, lime sauce. Just for a little kick. I may also double the "sauce" since my fiance was practically licking his plate to get every last drop!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Feb 2004
Reviewed by: KSKEMP
Really good, quick and easy. Like others I made changes based upon what I had on hand. What I did: Sauteed green onions with a box of fresh sliced white mushrooms in 1 1/2 T Magarine and set aside. Used 4 defrosted tilapia fillets (from Sam's Club)1 1/2 T more of margarine, salted, peppered, zest per recipe, but used 1/4 c bottled lime juice. Added mushrooms back in after turning fish. Served with garlic butter rice (Uncle Ben's!) and fresh brussel sprouts. YUM!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: awesome in tummy
I loved the idea of this recipe. I gave it 5* even though I had to make some changes it was still pretty good. I cooked 8 oz. fresh white mushrooms in some butter and then added 1 1/2 lbs. tilapia. I added more butter to fish. I didn't have lemon zest or green onion and it was still tasty. I also used coarse sea salt instead of kosher. I will try to add the zest next time, I bet it gives it a nice zing! We loved the lime flavor and I would increase that the next time to accomodate the larger amout of fish. This was so fast and easy especially after a long day at work! Thanks BGP!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Feb 2004
Reviewed by: KBURIE
Very good! I substituted about 2 cups fresh portobella mushrooms for the dried porcini, and shallots for the scallions (just because these were the ingredients I had on hand). I cooked this in a large frying pan with a cover, so after the first side of the fish was done, I flipped it over, dumped the mushrooms in, and then put the cover on. This kind of steamed it all. IMO, this recipe only makes 2 servings, though.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Becky Baltus
I make this on a regular basis. I have made a few changes to the recipe. Since we love lemons, I replaced the limes with lemons, and I don't use the zest. I also use either canned or sliced fresh white mushrooms, and I experimented until I was happy with the amount of mushrooms and green onions I use, which is many more than called for, because we like the topping, and I also like to saute the onion and mushrooms in the pan 1st , then take them out of the pan and set them aside, and cook the fish, then re-top the fish after it's cooked. I serve the fish with Sante Fe Rice. It's a pre-cooked rice by ( I think ) Uncle Bens. Awesome meal! 5 stars!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Nov 2003
Reviewed by: Tutu
In a word INCREDIABLE!!! I made only a few changes, I decreased the lime from two to one, I used fresh mushrooms, and I added Emeril's Original Essence. It was awesome. I will make this again often. My family loved it. Thanks for this wonderful recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes