My Reviews (100)

Traditional Madeira Cake

Cakes do not need icing and always taste great. In this cake, similar to a pound cake, it is the butter that gives it the rich taste it's well known for.
Reviews (100)


13 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: yevette
The recipe turned out great for me, a first time baker @38yrs.old,but i think it called for too many eggs. The first one I baked was good, but the second one could have won a prize. I used 6 eggs instead and used margarine instead of butter.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Mar 2004
Reviewed by: DEMMERICH1
The batter was SOOO buttery. I knew this cake would be like heaven. I followed the recipe to the letter(except the bake time. It was done in about half the time). However, when I ate it after baking, it tasted more like cooked eggs. I really did not taste any butter. I think it was a waste of my egg and butter supply. Sorry, but I would not make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Lori Anne
A beautiful pound cake that would make Grandmother proud! I followed recipe as directed and it was beautiful. My Mother-in-law said it was better than her Mother made and she made the best!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: MISSCANADA
PERFECT! I made this in a large 9x13 rectangle pan, 60 mins at 325. Not too sweet nice sponge texture great with whipped cream and strawberries made this for Canada weekend HUGE HIT!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: PARKER7586
Great recipe and so easy to make. The only thing I ommited were the eggs. The cake will rise without them. I would recommend to this anyone. This is even Great for Kids or Adults who have allergic reactions to eggs.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: SAM1960
Followed ingredients and directions. VERY dry. Will not make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Sep 2004
Reviewed by: NIBU
This is a FANTASTIC cake! A very heavy and sweet cake. It needs no icing! Will always be in my recipe book! A must have! Thank You Carol!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: Hannah
Great, with a capital G! My children said that it was just yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: CRYSTAL60
It was truly delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: bombshellbaker
Very Yummy!! I did go by the suggestion of only adding 6 eggs.. turned out fine... and no eggy taste!.... When it came to beating the whites I added 2/3 of the sugar required to form a meringue like substance... it always seems to work out better for me. I would also suggest glaze (for that extra sweet tooth!) with 1/4 cup of milk, and 3/4 cup of white sugar, with a teaspoon of vanilla(combine over medium/low heat).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes