My Reviews (39)

White Wine Sauce

A delicious sauce that is a perfect accompaniment to either a grilled or baked white meat or chicken. For a subtle flavour change, try a different herb to the suggested tarragon; or add a little cream to cut down on the acidity and give the sauce a full richness.
Reviews (39)


27 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: KEGOOD
I made this last night, unfortunatley we didn't eat dinner last night - so I put it in the fridge for tonight. This was spectacular!!!! 5 STARS!!! I made it with sauteed chicken breasts and linguine. Absolutely wonderful, this will go into my Favorite Sauces catagory! I doubled the recipe so I had enough to coat the 3 chicken breasts and the pasta and it was wonderful!! Great recipe, this should not be labeled as just a seafood sauce, because it was excellent on chicken and pasta!! THANK YOU!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: beanscooks
Used this on yellow fin tuna steaks. I was out of tarragon and used thyme. The family asked to have this sauce everytime we have fish. Thanks
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: AEZEPP
The flavors in this sauce were wonderful, very savory and tangy. We loved it over chicken tenderloins and wild rice. I did add some flour and heavy cream to it, but it really wasn't necessary. Would be just as delicious without the extra calories.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Marianne
We really enjoyed this sauce. I made it exactly as to the specifications with the exception of using only a scant teaspoon of the tarragon. After I finished it and tasted it, I decided to add one tablespoon of heavy cream to cut down the acidity for my husband. He loved every bite he took. I used chicken tenders cooked in olive oil with a touch of butter for this meal, and we have enough left over for a sandwich today. I'll take part of the sauce and mix it with the mayo for the sandwich. We can hardly wait! I can see why this would be perfect for a porous white fish because the flavors would seep into it so perfectly. Next time! I'm glad I pulled this recipe from my oldest entry page of my recipe box (a challenge from mis7up, a Recipe Buzzer). UPDATE: We did have a delicious sandwich using the leftovers today. This fits our definition of delicious. I understand that others may not like the taste of tarragon, but YUM!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Ana B.ee
This sauce was ok, it tasted good and was quick to put together, but I was looking for a creamier sauce ... I prefer when it sticks a little better to the fish instead of just pooling around it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: LACMOORE
This is a really great sauce. I used it over fresh pan seared tilapia fillets and I was very pleased. The ingredients in the sauce really enhance to flavor of the fish. It was also very easy to make. Definitely a keeper for me. Thanks for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: Don Reilly
This was very good. I didn't have shallots, so used onion, and didn't have fresh parsley, so used dried. The kids complained that it needed more flavor, but I think it was because of my substitutions. I do think that I might go a little heavier on the garlic and tarragon next time. When I added the parsley, I also added raw, peeled and deveined shrimp and stirred to coat. When the shrimp was cooked, I poured everything over a bowl of thin spaghetti, tossed and served. Even though the kids made that initial comment, I did notice that there were no leftovers, and that is my gauge of a good recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: Skelly
I've made this SEVERAL times now. We've made it with whitefish and chicken. My husband loves it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 May 2007
Reviewed by: Natalie E
The Tarragon overpowered the whole sauce. I will try it again maybe with dill.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 May 2010
Reviewed by: eileen
This is delicious! I doubled it to have enough to pour over the pound of linguine i'd made with clams...really complemented the meal! Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes