My Reviews (84)

Homemade Wholemeal Pasta

Making your own pasta is easy if you don't mind a little kneading. Sometimes I throw all the ingredients into my mixer with the kneading hook.
Reviews (84)


28 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: AMATEUR CHEF
By simply following the recipe, this dough was never going to come together. I had to add water to it before it would stay together enough for me knead it. After that, it was all uphill. It came together very nicely, rolled out beautifully through my pasta maker and was delicious mixed with asparagus, mushrooms and shrimp.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Breached
Excellent recipe. It was probably due to the relative humidity where I am (winter in the prairies up north) and also due to the technique I was using for kneading the dough (stand mixer), but I found that this recipe didn't even come close to having enough moisture, I probably added about an additional quarter cup of water until I got the consistency I was looking for. I bake a lot of bread, so my wheat was all pretty "fresh", and hasn't been sitting on the shelf for years, so that can be ruled out. I could have probably made due with much less moisture if I was kneading by hand (I tried that only once.....). It wasn't until I added that extra moisture that I got a ball of dough instead of crumbs swirling around in the bowl, like some of the other reviewers described. I kneaded it for at least 5 minutes (probably more), I mean why not, it's not like I'm doing it by hand right, leaving a nice spring in the mouth feel of this. I really appreciate that this recipe uses ingredients I always have in my pantry. If you are wondering wether or not this is a pasta recipe you want to try, go for it, it's definitely one that I've added to my repertoire.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jun 2004
Reviewed by: MARTY52265
this is so good!! I added all the ingredients into my stand mixer, then used my pasta roller, I had the best pasta, that I ever made... I will make this often!! my family begged for more! thanks gigi!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: NuJoi
This is a killer recipe! I loved it so much, I wrote about it on my blog: http://nujoikitchendiary.blogspot.com/2008/01/channeling-lidia.html I used a KA stand mixer for mixing, rolling and cutting. Use the paddle attachements to bring the ingredients together. If it isn't coming together properly, add a little water. I used a spray bottle, but you can also use a spoon to sprinkle it on top of the dough. Be careful to add too much water. As you roll the pasta dough, the flour becomes more hydrated, so just be patient. (I know that's easier said than done.) The cooked noodles were not heavy at all. They were silky, but had a little texture and had a good nutty flavor from the whole wheat flour. Please try this recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: HANSENJK
If you have a stand mixer with a dough hook and a pasta roller machine, then by all means, try this pasta! The taste is excellent. If you don't, then brace yourself for some sore arms and a stiff back....this dough is brutal!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: MOM2K&A
Excellent recipe. Used mixer and pasta machine, quick and much tastier than dry pasta. Had to add water to mine, depends on the amount of humidity.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: OPERABABE_61
Nice coarse texture with the wheat flour, which I liked. I did it by hand and yes, it was hard to knead! I also had to add water to get it to stick together. It never even occurred to me to use my KitchenAid mixer!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: lillauren
This was very time consuming. It was my first time making pasta, but it was very hard to roll out if you don't have a pasta machine. Over all it tasted great with pesto, parmesean cheese, and asparagus.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: Kirsten Johnson Chou
I changed the recipe to serve six although the original recipe would have served my family of six just fine, it made a lot of pasta. I mixed it in my mixer and the dough wasn't coming together. After adding a little water with no difference I finally added another egg. That would have been like adding a half of an egg to the original recipe. I kneaded by hand since my mixer just pushes pasta dough around the bowl. I didn't find the kneading too hard and I got a nice elastic dough after about five minutes and continued to knead for a few minutes after that. I should have split my dough in half because I could not roll it thin enough. I cut it by hand with a pizza cutter and it cut easily. The end product came out very tasty even though it was kinda thick. However, towards the end of my plate when the pasta had cooled off it started tasting very doughy. I think this is just because I couldn't get it thin enough. I will definately make this again. I'll have to try the original recipe and see if I still have to alter it. I used stone ground whole wheat which may also have made a slight difference. My kids all loved it right away, but nobody wanted the seconds after it cooled. I think this would make great dumplings or noodles for soup too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 May 2004
Reviewed by: Gina
I am the original poster of this recipe, for whatever reason the recipe was changed a bit. The recipe that I submitted had an additional 1 - 2 Tablespoons of water and the olive oil should be 2 Tablespoons as well. I make this using my kitchenaid mixer along with the kitchenaid pasta attachment. Just throw everything in the bowl and knead until it comes together. I then hand knead it for a minute or so, then I rub the dough ball with olive oil, cover with plastic, and let it rest 30 mins to 1 hour before I roll it out. I hope this helps.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes