My Reviews (117)

Crunchy Wholemeal Bread

A bread machine recipe that uses polenta to give it crunchy crust. This bread is sweetened with honey and sugar for a delicious sweet wholemeal bread.
Reviews (117)


20 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: THEINSANECHEF
For people who prefer not to use powdered milk or a bread machiene: Use 1 and 1/4 cups milk. Heat milk til scalding and add butter. Set aside til lukewarm, add honey and sugar. Proof yeast in mixture then add salt and cornmeal. Gradually stir in flour and kneed for 8-10 minutes. Cook in 350º oven for 30-35 minutes. Works great! Thanks for the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: Erron
This was a very good wheat bread. I had to add about 1/3c more flour. I will reduce the sugar and honey next time by half, as I found this bread a bit sweet for everyday use. I don't keep cornmeal in my pantry, so I used 1/4c of Red River (or sunny boy) whole grain cereal. I love hearty whole grain breads, and this is better than any other bread machine loaf I have made from my bread maker. I did my last rise out of the machine, basted it with butter, and baked at 350f for 25 mins next time I will bake at 325f for at least 35 mins, as it was a bit under done, but the crust was quite dark. I also made a second batch, and divided it into 12 dinner rolls and baked at 325f for 35 mins these turned out perfectly. Thanks for a great starter recipe!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Apr 2001
Reviewed by: VITAR
Yeah!! I finally found a wonderful and easy wheat bread. My husband and I loved it. Thanks
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jun 2000
Reviewed by: HBOUWENS
This is great bread, very moist. I enjoyed the corn meal crunchy crust but I usually make it without the corn meal and instead add more whole wheat. My kids especially love it this way for their peanut butter and jelly sandwiches. I feel great giving my kids such healthy bread!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: SUSAN ALLUMS
This recipe was AWESOME. I grind my own grain so I used freshly ground wheat and cornmeal; and what I came up with was a moist and delicious loaf. Thanks!!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jul 2000
Reviewed by: KMAX1
The best flavor of any whole wheat bread I've made. My 13 year-old daughter had a piece this morning, plain bread with nothing on it, and asked if I would make it again. That's pretty high praise. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 May 2000
Reviewed by: barbaral.
This recipe produces a great light textured wheat bread. The corn meal gives added goodness to texture and taste. I made a few minor substitutions such as using powdered buttermilk for regular powder milk, 2 cups of whole wheat flour plus 1 cup of bread flour. My only problem was I used 3 teaspoons of dry yeast which was too much with the bread flour.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: ENGINEERGIRL
Very good texture! I love it toasted with cream cheese and cinnamon/sugar sprinkles1
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: JESSALYNNICOLE
Very wholesome, very easy, very delicious. Everyone around my table love it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jan 2001
Reviewed by: 11128
This is the one I've looking for. It is super.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes